Council of Europe Human Rights Commissioner: shortlist announced

Committee of Ministers Strasbourg 23 November 2017
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page
  • Imprimer en PDF
Council of Europe Human Rights Commissioner: shortlist announced

The Committee of Ministers has submitted today a shortlist of three candidates for the post of Council of Europe Human Rights Commissioner to the Organisation’s Parliamentary Assembly.

The candidates are, in alphabetical order:

- Mr Goran KLEMENČIČ (presented by Slovenia)

- Mr Pierre-Yves LE BORGN’ (presented by France)

- Ms Dunja MIJATOVIĆ (presented by Bosnia and Herzegovina).

The Assembly will elect one of the three candidates as the new Commissioner during its winter plenary session in Strasbourg (22-26 January 2018). He/she will take over from present Commissioner Nils Muižnieks on 1 April 2018.

The Commissioner for Human Rights is an independent and impartial institution established in 1999 by Council of Europe to promote awareness of and respect for human rights in the 47 Council of Europe member states. The Commissioner is elected for a non-renewable term of office of six years.