Relations with non-member states on all continents allow the Council of Europe to widen its scope for action and global outreach.

At present, more than 90 non-member states are Parties to Council of Europe treaties or participants in other Council of Europe instruments, such as the Venice Commission, GRECO, the Pompidou Group or the European Centre for Global Interdependence and Solidarity (North-South Centre).

A number of non-member states also have institutionalised bilateral relations with the Council of Europe’s Committee of Ministers, Parliamentary Assembly and/or Congress.

Observer status is the only available status open, at Committee of Ministers’ level, for non-member states which cannot become members. Relations and contacts with observer states show that they cover almost the whole spectrum of the Council of Europe’s activities.

Relations with beneficiaries of the Policy towards neighbouring regions have also been formalised to a certain extent, and aimed at developing a common legal space based on Council of Europe’s values and instruments.