The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) is the agency of the United Nations contributing to building peace through international cooperation in education, the sciences and culture.

UNESCO cultural conventions and projects provide platforms for international cooperation and establish a holistic cultural governance system based on human rights and shared values. UNESCO's programmes contribute to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals defined in Agenda 2030 adopted by the United Nations (2015).

UNESCO has 193 member States and 11 associate members.

The cooperation between the Enlarged Partial Agreement on Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe (EPA) and UNESCO is rooted in the recognition of the outstanding tangible and intangible cultural heritage represented by the Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe and their role in promoting sustainable tourism development across Europe.