The Council of Europe

Photo of the Palais de l'Europe in Strasbourg

The Council of Europe is the continent's leading human rights organisation. It has 47 member states, 28 of which are members of the European Union. All Council of Europe member states have signed up to the European Convention on Human Rights, a treaty designed to protect human rights, democracy and the rule of law.