19 November 2015 - 16.00-17.30 - Room 10, Palais de l'Europe, Interpretation: FR/EN - Sponsored by the International Organisation of La Francophonie

 

The lab aims to put into perspective the role of regulating freedom of expression in the current context of the terrorist threat and the dissemination of content inciting to hatred and violence online.

Initiative 1 Initiative 1

Between media regulation and the protection of personal data

Using the initiative of Tunisia's media regulatory authority (HAICA) as a starting point, this lab will develop an index of hate speech in Tunisian audiovisual media. It will then more broadly compare experiences of media regulatory authorities (in Belgium and Tunisia) and personal data protection authorities (in Burkina Faso and Mauritius), in terms of protection of freedom of expression in the context of the fight against terrorism, while including the views of civil society (APTI - Romania).

Presenter(s)

Mr Nouri LAJMI, Tunisia, Chairman of the Independent High Authority for Audiovisual Communication

Nouri Lajmi is chairman of the Independent High Authority for Audiovisual Communication (HAICA) of Tunisia since 2013. He holds a PhD in information science, has been teaching at the University of Manouba in Tunis and conducted numerous studies in the fields of journalism, and ethics of information and news. He spent several years in Canada, where he worked with several NGOs and was a consultant to the Canadian International Development Agency for a program to support journalists. There, he also worked with the Public Law Research Centre of the University of Montreal and with the Department of Information and Communication at Université Laval in Quebec City.


Discussants Discussants

Discussants are invited to take part in the Labs in order to share their experience with the presented democratic initiatives and try to bring broader perspectives to the following discussions.

Ms Muriel HANOT, Belgium, Director of Studies and Research in the Higher Audiovisual Council of the Federation Wallonia-Brussels

Muriel Hanot is director of studies and research in the higher Audiovisual Council (CSA) of the Federation Wallonia-Brussels (Belgium). She is responsible for studies related to the cultural evolution, sociological, economic and technological evolution of production, programming and audiovisual consumption. She holds a degree in history, a degree in social communication, a PhD in communication and a university certificate in prospective analysis. She joined CSA in 2005 after a FNRS research career in the field of history, reception, usage and appropriation of television. She is also a guest lecturer at the UCLMons where she offers courses on the socio-economics of media.


Ms Drudeisha MADHUB, Mauritius, Data Protection Commissioner of Mauritius

Graduated in law and specialized in international human rights, Ms Drudeisha Madhub worked for more than six years as a lawyer in the State Law Office. After obtaining a LL.M in International Human Rights at the University of Essex, she joined in 2007 the Office of the Prime Minister, as Commissioner of data protection. As such, she is a member of the Francophone Association of Personal Data Protection (AFAPDP) and the Global Privacy Enforcement Network (GPEN). In 2011, she was appointed expert in data protection and human rights by Interpol as a member of the Commission for the Control of Interpol’s Files. Since September 2014, she is also an expert at the United Nations in the UN Global Pulse data advisory group.


Mr Bogdan MANOLEA, Romania, Executive Director of the Association for Technology and Internet

Bogdan Manolea is the Executive Director of the Association for Technology and Internet - APTI Romania. Mr Manolea is a lawyer by training and has extensive experience in ICT law. He is particularly interested in digital civil rights (freedom of expression on the Internet, privacy and open copyright). He was author of presentations and articles on the issue of the right to ICT at national and international conferences. He is also owner of the only Romanian website dedicated to Internet law: www.legi-internet.ro. He was also editor EDRI-gram, a bi-weekly newsletter about digital civil rights in Europe between 2006 and 2014.


Ms Marguerite OUEDRAOGO, Burkina Faso, President of the Commission on Information Technology and Liberties, Vice-President of the Association of Francophone Personal Data Protection Authorities

A lawyer by training, specializing in business management and regulation of telecommunications, Marguerite Ouedraogo is since 2013 the President of the Commission on Information Technology and Liberties (CIL) of Burkina Faso. She is also Vice-President of the Association of Francophone Personal Data Protection Authorities (AFAPDP). She has more than twenty years of professional experience, gained both in the private and public sectors, including eleven years with the electronic communications regulator of Burkina Faso, ARCEP.


Moderator Moderator

Mr Francis KPATINDÉ, France, Journalist and lecturer at the Institute of Political Studies, Sciences Po Paris

Francis Kpatindé is journalist and lecturer at the Institute of Political Studies (Sciences Po. Paris). He is the former editor of “Jeune Afrique” newspaper. He was also the spokesman for the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) in Geneva and then in West Africa.


Cartoonist Cartoonist

Mr Aurélien CANTOU

Lab 17 - Framing freedom of expression?
Palais de l'Europe - room 10 19 Nov., 16.00-17.30
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page
  • Imprimer en PDF
Challenges 2015 Challenges 2015

19 novembre 2015 - 16.00-17.30 - Salle 10, Palais de l'Europe, Interpretation: FR/EN - Parrainé par l’Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie

 

Ce laboratoire veut mettre en perspective le rôle de la régulation de la liberté d’expression dans le contexte actuel de la menace terroriste et la diffusion de contenus incitant à la haine et à la violence en ligne.

Initiative 1 Initiative 1

Entre régulation des médias et protection des données personnelles

Ce laboratoire partira de l’initiative de l’autorité de régulation des médias de Tunisie (HAICA)  de développer un index du discours de haine dans les médias audiovisuels tunisiens pour comparer ensuite plus largement les expériences d’autorités de régulation des médias (Belgique, Tunisie) et d' autorités de protection des données personnelles (Burkina Faso, Maurice) en termes de protection de la liberté d'expression dans le contexte de la lutte contre le terrorisme, tout en incluant l'opinion de la société civile (APTI - Roumanie).

Présentateur(s)/trice(s)

M. Nouri LAJMI, Tunisie, Président de la Haute autorité indépendante de la Communication Audiovisuelle

Nouri Lajmi est l’actuel Président de la Haute autorité indépendante de la communication audiovisuelle (HAICA) de Tunisie depuis 2013. Docteur en sciences de l’information, il a été enseignant à l’Université de la Manouba à Tunis et réalisé de nombreuses recherches dans les domaines du journalisme, de la déontologie de l’information et des nouvelles. Il a séjourné plusieurs années au Canada où il a oeuvré avec plusieurs ONGs et été consultant auprès de l’Agence canadienne de développement international pour un programme d’appui aux journalistes. Il y a également collaboré avec le Centre de recherche en droit public de l’Université de Montréal et avec le Département de l’information et de la communication de l’Université Laval à Québec.


Intervenants Intervenants

Les intervenants sont invités à prendre part aux Labs afin de partager leur expérience avec les présentateurs d’initiatives démocratiques et tenter d’élargir la perspective des discussions qui s’ensuivent.

Mme Muriel HANOT, Belgique, Directrice des études et des recherches au Conseil supérieur de l’Audiovisuel de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles

En tant que directrice des études et des recherches au Conseil supérieur de l’Audiovisuel (CSA) de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles (Belgique), Muriel Hanot a la charge des études relatives à l'évolution culturelle, sociologique, économique et technologique des questions de production, de programmation et de consommation audiovisuelles. Licenciée en histoire, licenciée en communication sociale, docteur en communication et titulaire d’un certificat universitaire en analyse prospective, elle est entrée au CSA en 2005 après une carrière de chercheur FNRS, notamment dans le domaine de l'histoire, de la réception, des usages et des appropriations de la télévision. Elle est également chargée de cours invitée à l'UCLMons où elle dispense un cours de  socio-économie des médias.


Mme Drudeisha MADHUB, Maurice, Commissaire pour la protection des données de Maurice

Diplômée en droit Mme Drudeisha Madhub a travaillé pendant plus de six ans comme avocate de l’Etat au bureau du procureur général. Après un LL.M en droits humains internationaux à l’Université d’Essex, elle rejoint en 2007 le Bureau du Premier ministre en tant que Commissaire de la protection des données personnelles. A ce titre, elle est membre de l’Association francophone de protection des données personnelles (AFAPDP) et du Global privacy enforcement network (GPEN). En 2011, elle est nommée experte de la protection des données personnelles et des droits de l’Homme par Interpol en qualité de membre de la Commission de contrôle des fichiers. Depuis septembre 2014, elle est également experte auprès des Nations-Unies au sein du UN Global pulse data advisory group.


M. Bogdan MANOLEA, Roumanie, Directeur exécutif de l’Association pour la Technologie et l’Internet

Bodgan Manolea est le Directeur exécutif de l’Association pour la technologie et l’internet -  APTI Roumanie. Mr Manolea est juriste de formation et dispose d’une vaste expérience en droit des TIC. Il s’intéresse particulièrement aux droits civils numériques (liberté d’expression sur Internet, vie privée et open copyright). Il a été auteur de présentations et d’articles sur la question du droit des TIC lors de conférences nationales et internationales. Propriétaire du seul site web roumain consacrée au droit d’Internet : www.legi-internet.ro. Il a également été éditeur de EDRI-gram, une newsletter bihebdomadaire sur les droits civils numérique en Europe entre 2006 et 2014.


Mme Marguerite OUEDRAOGO, Burkina Faso, Présidente de la Commission Technologie de l’Information des Libertés, Vice-Présidente de L'Association francophone des autorités de protection des données personnelles

Juriste de formation, spécialisée en gestion des entreprises et en régulation des télécommunications, Marguerite Ouedraogo est depuis 2013 la Présidente de la Commission informatique et libertés (CIL) du Burkina Faso. Elle est également Vice-présidente de l’Association francophone des autorités de protection des données personnelles (AFAPDP). Elle totalise plus d’une vingtaine d’années d’expériences professionnelles, acquise aussi bien dans le secteur privé que public, dont onze années passées chez le régulateur des communications électroniques du Burkina Faso, l’ARCEP.


modérateur modérateur

M. Francis KPATINDÉ, France, Journaliste et maître de conférences à l’Insitut d’études politiques, Sciences Po Paris

Francis Kpatindé est journaliste et maître de conférences à l'Institut d'Études Politiques (Sciences Po. Paris). Il est l’ancien rédacteur en chef du journal Jeune Afrique. Il fut également le porte-parole du Haut-Commissariat des Nations unies pour les réfugiés (UNHCR) à Genève, puis en Afrique de l'Ouest. 


Dessinateur Dessinateur

M. Aurélien CANTOU

Lab 17 - Encadrer la liberté d'expression
Palais de l'Europe - salle 10 19 Nov., 16.00-17.30
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page
  • Imprimer en PDF
défis 2015 défis 2015