Back Marija Pejčinović Burić elected Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Marija Pejčinović Burić

Marija Pejčinović Burić

The Assembly today elected Marija Pejčinović Burić (Croatia) Secretary General of the Council of Europe for a five-year term beginning on 18 September 2019.

In the first round of the election Marija Pejčinović Burić obtained 159 votes, an absolute majority, and Didier Reynders (Belgium) 105 votes. There were 264 votes cast.

Ms Pejčinović Burić is Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign and European Affairs of the Republic of Croatia.


Statement in the Hemicycle :



Press point : 


Parliamentary Assembly Session Strasbourg 26 June 2019
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page
Follow us


galleries link
@coe on twitter