17 March 1948

Brussels Treaty

Western European Union (WEU) / Brussels Treaty deposit in Central Archives of the Council of Europe

The Treaty on Economic, Social and Cultural Collaboration and Collective Self-Defence (the Brussels Treaty) was signed in Brussels on 17 March 1948 by five European countries: the United Kingdom, Belgium, France, Luxembourg and the Netherlands.

From the beginning, the Brussels Treaty Organisation and the Council of Europe have worked together closely, exchanging documents and participating in each other's conferences.

In August 1950 the Assembly recommended that the Brussels Treaty's  social and cultural activities be transferred to the Council of Europe (Rec(1950)19). This recommendation was followed up by Resolution 23 of 2 May 1951.

7-11 May 1948

Congress of the Hague

"The Congress of the Hague is surely one of the most remarkable events of the closing century. Until that moment "treaties of peace" were signed following wars, and were not worthy of their name. Imposed by the victors on the vanquished, they provoked, more than anything, a need for revenge. At the Hague, it was no longer a question of preparing treaties, but rather of reuniting the people of Europe in a common organisation capable of ensuring a lasting peace.", Pierre Pflimlin, former President of the Consultative Assembly.

  Congress of Europe, The Hague, 7-11 May 1948, ISBN 92-871-3918-0 (proceedings, 452 p.) (opens new window)