The District of Nicosia has 14 municipalities, but 2 Municipalities are in the occupied areas of the island, however, they still have representation within the Republic of Cyprus acting as legal entities in their own right. Greater Nicosia is administered by several municipalities. In the centre is the city municipality of Nicosia itself. The other municipalities are Strovolos, Lakatamia, Latsia, Aglandjia, Engomi, Agios Dhometios, Yeri and Tseri.

According to the last official census in 2011, the District of Nicosia has a total population of 326,980 inhabitants. it is estimated that non-national residents of the District account for 34.1% or (58,130).  According to the Asylum Service of the Ministry of Interior of the Republic of Cyprus (2017- 2020), the number of refugees/asylum seekers in the city of Nicosia is estimated at 10,849. 

    Contact the intercutural network coordinator for the Nicosia District:

Citizens in Power (CIP)

Alexias 24

Lakatamia 2304 Nicosia


 Contact by e-mail


 Results of Nicoisa District Intercultural Cities Index Analysis 


 Below is a bar chart summarising the results in comparison to the city average for each intercultural indicator, and a pie chart showing the different stakeholders who are part of the network.

The “Enhancing structures and policies for intercultural integration in Cyprus” project is co-funded by the European Union via the Technical Support Instrument, and implemented by the Council of Europe, in cooperation with the European Commission. The views expressed herein can in no way be taken to reflect the official opinion of the European Union.