The German-speaking Community (DG = Deutschsprachige Gemeinschaft) is one of the federated entities of Belgium. German is the language used in the civil service, in schools, and in courts. The DG lies in the eastern part of Belgium, covering an area of 854 km² along the nation’s borders with Germany, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg.

About 77,000 people live in the DG’s nine municipalities, on the intersection of two cultures: the Germanic and the Latin, which explains why the East Belgians are said to “work like Prussians but live like the French”.

As a Region with legislative powers, the DG maintains wide-ranging autonomy with a parliament, a government, and a civil service. The DG is primarily responsible for cultural matters, education, vocational training and employment, the family and social welfare; and it supervises local authorities.

Among the particular attractions the Community has for visitors are its remarkable cuisine and its splendid landscapes, as attested to by magnificent cycling trails of the RAVeL network.

As a member of the Meuse-Rhine Euregio and of the Greater Saar-Lor-Lux Region, the DG attaches great importance to cross-border cooperation.

The economy is characterised by small and medium-sized enterprises. The region’s strong points are its prime situation and a multi-lingual population, and cross-border activities. The DG is thus located in the heart of a trans-frontier market for employment and services.