The Expert Committee on Combating Hate Speech is composed of 16 experts. Ten representatives are appointed by member states and six by the Secretary General of the Council of Europe.

The Committee shall be composed of 10 representatives, 5 on behalf of CDADI and 5 of CDMSI, of the highest possible rank in the fields of equality, non-discrimination and inclusion policies, addressing hate speech through non-legal and legislative actions, and/or freedom of expression and media policy designated by the governments of member States. It is also composed of 6 independent experts, appointed by the Secretary General, with established expertise in these fields.

The composition of the Committee of Experts will reflect an equitable geographic distribution amongst the member States and will take account of the gender equality dimension.

Each member of the Committee shall have one vote. Where a government designates more than one member, only one of them is entitled to take part in the voting.