Education for democratic citizenship” means education, training, dissemination, information, practices and activities which aim, by equipping learners with knowledge, skills and understanding and moulding their attitudes and behaviour, to empower them to exercise and defend their democratic rights and responsibilities in society, to value diversity and to play an active part in democratic life, with a view to the promotion and protection of democracy and the rule of law.

Human rights education” means education, training, dissemination, information, practices and activities which aim, by equipping learners with knowledge, skills and understanding and moulding their attitudes and behaviour, to empower them to contribute to the building and defence of a universal culture of human rights in society, with a view to the promotion and protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms

Education for democratic citizenship and human rights education (DG Democracy) are closely interrelated and mutually supportive. They differ in focus and scope rather than in goals and practices. Education for democratic citizenship focuses primarily on democratic rights and responsibilities and active participation, in relation to the civic, political, social, economic, legal and cultural spheres of society, while human rights education is concerned with the broader spectrum of human rights and fundamental freedoms in every aspect of people’s lives.

FAQ FAQ

« L’éducation à la citoyenneté démocratique » couvre l’éducation, la formation, la sensibilisation, l’information, les pratiques et les activités qui visent, en apportant aux apprenants des connaissances, des compétences et une compréhension, et en développant leurs attitudes et leurs comportements, à leur donner les moyens d’exercer et de défendre leurs droits et leurs responsabilités démocratiques dans la société, d’apprécier la diversité et de jouer un rôle actif dans la vie démocratique, afin de promouvoir et de protéger la démocratie et la primauté du droit.

« L’éducation aux droits de l’homme » concerne l’éducation, la formation, la sensibilisation, l’information, les pratiques et les activités qui visent, en apportant aux apprenants des connaissances, des compétences et une compréhension, et en développant leurs attitudes et leurs comportements, à leur donner les moyens de participer à la construction et à la défense d’une culture universelle des droits de l’homme dans la société, afin de promouvoir et de protéger les droits de l’homme et les libertés fondamentales.

L’éducation à la citoyenneté démocratique et l’éducation aux droits de l’homme (DG Démocratie) sont étroitement liées et se confortent mutuellement. Elles diffèrent davantage par le sujet et la portée que par les objectifs et les pratiques. L’éducation à la citoyenneté démocratique met essentiellement l’accent sur les droits et les responsabilités démocratiques et sur la participation active, en relation avec les aspects civiques, politiques, sociaux, économiques, juridiques et culturels de la société, alors que l’éducation aux droits de l’homme s’intéresse à l’éventail plus large des droits de l’homme et des libertés fondamentales dans tous les domaines de la vie.

Afficheur de contenus web Afficheur de contenus web