International Contact Group on Citizenship and Human Rights Education - ODIHR
International Contact Group on Citizenship and Human Rights Education
 

Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE/ODIHR)

Based in Warsaw (Poland) ODIHR assists the OSCE participating States in the implementation of their human dimension commitments, including commitments related to human rights, non-discrimination, democratization and rule of law. Education and capacity building activities are one of the main pillars of ODIHR’s work. Information about these areas, references to concrete educational tools as well as contact details of relevant ODIHR staff members are included below.

Area 1. Promoting Holocaust remembrance and educational approaches to combat anti-Semitism

Contact point: Ms Anne Giebel, Tolerance and Non-Discrimination Department, anne.giebel@odihr.pl

Area 2. Promoting educational approaches to Intolerance and Discrimination against Muslims

Contact point: Mr Taskin Soykan, Tolerance and Non-Discrimination Department, taskin.soykan@odihr.pl

Area 3. Supporting the governments and civil society to implement quality human rights education in formal and non-formal education

Contact point: Pavel Chacuk, Human Rights Department, pavel.chacuk@odihr.pl

Area 4. Education on Roma and Sinti Issues

Contact point:  Ms. Mirjam Karoly, Contact Point for Roma and Sinti Issues, mirjam.karoly@odihr.pl or roma@odihr.pl

Area 5. Trial Monitoring Training

ODIHR has developed a reference manual for trial-monitoring practitioners as well as a Legal Digest of International Fair trial Rights as an educational tool for civil society to support trial monitoring. On the basis of these tools, ODIHR offers a training programme on trial monitoring methodology to interested NGOs.

Contact point: Mr. Benjamin Moreau, Chief of Rule of Law Unit, benjamin.moreau@odihr.pl

Area 6. Training to Support to Civil Society

ODIHR works to strengthen the capacity of civil society by increasing dialogue and co-operation with state authorities, in such areas as Democratic governance, Migration and Freedom of movement, and the Rule of law.

Contact points: Mr. Marcin Walecki, Chief of Democratic Governance Unit., Nathalie Tagwerker Nathalie.Tagwerker@odihr.pl (for Migration and Freedom of movement issues) and Benjamin Moreau Benjamin.Moreau@odihr.pl (for Rule of Law issues)


ODIHR also builds the capacity of the civil society to work in human rights, particularly on human rights monitoring and reporting, human rights advocacy as well as thematic areas such as anti-torture, freedom of assembly and association, etc.

Contact point: Mr. Pavel Chacuk, Human Rights Department, pavel.chacuk@odihr.pl

Area 7. Promoting Women’s Political Participation and Gender Equality

ODIHR works to compile and share best practices with respect to voluntary measures that have been successful in promoting women’s involvement in political parties. Trends in women’s participation in politics are outlined in the baseline study Gender Equality in Elected Office: A Six-Step Action Plan. ODIHR supports networking between women's groups and political stakeholders and trains legislators, women leaders and civil society on measures to promote women’s political participation.

Contact point: Ms. Kristin VanderLeest, ODIHR Gender Adviser, kristin.vanderleest@odihr.pl.

Area 8. Training and Resources to Support Security Sector Actors in Reform Efforts

ODIHR implements training for all members of the security sector, include police, border personnel and armed forces personnel, on integrating a gender perspective in their work and in their structures. ODIHR has also developed resources that specifically address the human rights of security sector actors, including servicewomen and servicemen.


Contact point: Ms. Andreea Vesa, ODIHR Human Rights Officer, andreea.vesa@odihr.pl, and Oyvind Hoyen, ODIHR Human Rights Officer, oyvind.hoyen@odihr.pl..

Area 9. Protecting Human Rights while countering terrorism

ODIHR has developed a training module and manual on Countering Terrorism, Protecting Human Rights which provide law enforcement officials with a better understanding of the main human rights issues that arise while addressing terrorism and ways to ensure the protection of human rights in line with international standards and OSCE commitments.

Contact point: Ms. Lucile Sengler, ODIHR Adviser on Anti-Terrorism Issues, lucile.sengler@odihr.pl.

Area 10. Online databases

ODIHR has created an online legal database called Legislationline as an educational resource for legal practitioners and civil society, providing direct access to international norms and standards relating to specific human dimension issues, as well as to the domestic legislation of OSCE participating States.

Contact point: Ms. Agata Rzewuska, Website Assistant, agata.rezewuska@odihr.pl 

AssociatiOnline is an interactive guide to freedom of association for government authorities and civil society. It can be used for educational purposes, providing direct access to key principles and international standards relating to freedom of association, with a special focus on NGOs.

Contact point: Ms Anita Danka, Human Rights Department, anita.danka@odihr.pl.