Mr. Thorbjørn Jagland is the 13th Secretary General of the Council of Europe. The Secretary General has the overall responsibility for the strategic management of the Organisation. Mr. Jagland was elected in September 2009.  In June 2014, he was re-elected, and his second term in office commenced on October 1, 2014.

The former Prime Minister and Foreign Minister of Norway, Thorbjørn Jagland, aged 63, was also the President of the Storting (Norwegian Parliament) and the leader of the Norwegian Labour Party. He is currently the Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, which awards the Nobel Peace Prize.


Private office

Private office of the Secretary General and the Deputy Secretary General

 Tel: 00 33 (0)3 88 41 20 00           Fax : 00 33 (0)3 88 41 27 99 

Bjørn BERGE, Director

  • Management and co-ordination of Private Office
  • Committee of Ministers and national governments and delegations
  • Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights
  • Office of the Directorate General of Programmes
  • Senior Recruitment / staff matters
  • Secretary to the Intra-Institutional Meeting, Senior Management Group and General Affairs Team
  • Co-ordination of the Secretary General's agenda and communication
  • Reforms - implementation and follow-up
  • Assistant: Karen Caffrey-Oliveira

Matjaž GRUDEN, Deputy Director

  • Deputises for the Director
  • Directorate of Political Advice
  • Directorate of Policy Planning
  • Directorate of External Relations
  • Council of Europe Neighbourhood Policy
  • Speechwriting
  • Reforms - implementation and follow-up
  • Assistant: Ermioni Kefallonitou

Louise BARTON, Adviser

  • Directorate of Information Technology
  • Directorate of Logistics
  • Directorate of Democratic citizenship and participation
  • Directorate of Human Rights and Anti-discrimination
  • Council of Europe Development Bank
  • Staff Committee
  • Reforms - implementation and follow-up
  • Assistant: Françoise Rui

Leyla KAYACIK, Adviser

  • European Court of Human Rights, including reform process
  • Directorate of Human Rights
  • Directorate of Information Society and Action against Crime
  • European Commission for Democracy through Law (Venice Commission)
  • Reforms - implementation and follow-up
  • Assistant: Catherine Van Der Graaf

Fredrik HOLM, Adviser

  • Directorate of Programme, Finance and Linguistic Services
  • Directorate of Internal Oversight
  • European Directorate for the Quality of Medicines & HealthCare
  • Protocol
  • Reforms - implementation and follow-up
  • Assistant: Katie Stephens

Hallvard GORSETH, Adviser

  • Parliamentary Assembly
  • Directorate of Justice and Human Dignity
  • Directorate of Democratic Governance
  • Directorate of Legal Advice and Public International Law (Jurisconsult)
  • Strasbourg World Forum for Democracy (SWFD)
  • Reforms - implementation and follow-up
  • Assistant: Katie Stephens

Adrian EVTUHOVICI, Adviser

  • Congress of Local and Regional Authorities
  • Democratic Institutions and Governance Department
  • Directorate of Communications
  • Accession of the European Union to the European Convention on Human Rights
  • Roma
  • Civil Society
  • Relations with the City of Strasbourg
  • Reforms - implementation and follow-up
  • Assistant: Catherine Van Der Graaf



Assistant to the Secretary General


Assistant to the  Director

Françoise RUI

Assistant to Louise Barton

Jacqueline BLOICE

Assistant to the Secretary General


Assistant to Hallvard Gorseth and Fredrik Holm

Catherine Van Der Graaf

Assistant to Leyla Kayacik and Adrian Evtuhovici

Isabelle BILBEAU

Assistant to the Deputy Secretary General


Assistant to the Deputy Director

Reception / Administrative Assistance



Portal Footer