The 2014-2015 project Education for Democratic Citizenship and Human Rights aims to promote a culture of democracy and human rights through education, based on cooperation and sharing of good practice among the States Party to the European Cultural Convention (ECC)

The Council of Europe Charter on Education for Democratic Citizenship and Human Rights Education, which was adopted by the Council of Europe member states in 2010, provides a common focus and catalyst for action in this area.  The overall objective of the project is to contribute to the sustainable development of education for democratic citizenship and human rights in the ECC countries. 

The objectives include the following:

  • To raise awareness of the Charter and its potential for supporting the ECC countries in this area;
  • to develop support tools for the implementation of the Charter;
  • to foster networking, partnerships and cooperation.
Multilateral cooperation Multilateral cooperation

The Council of Europe supports networking and cooperation among the countries, in particular through the network of co-ordinators for Education for democratic citizenship and human rights (EDC/HRE coordinators).  Review of the implementation of the Charter aims at providing an overview of the progress made and priority areas for future action.  The first review was held in 2012.  The 2nd review is foreseen in 2016-2017.

The Council of Europe supports peer-to-peer learning among the countries, in particular though the EU/CoE programme “Human Rights and Democracy in Action”.  This programme provides funding for small scale cooperation projects among 3-8 countries within the scope of the Charter.

Bilateral cooperation - Joint Programmes Bilateral cooperation - Joint Programmes

Support to specific countries is provided in the framework of the Joint Programmes between the European Commission and the Council of Europe. Such programmes allow making use of the expertise and best practice collected and developed through multilateral cooperation.

Regional cooperation Regional cooperation

Regional Summer Academies aim to bridge policy and practice, based on training and networking programmes for school teams from Eastern Europe and South East Europe. The Summer Academies are a joint project of the European Wergeland Centre, the Council of Europe and the authorities of Poland and Montenegro.

Council of Europe supports the Five Nations Network, which is a unique forum for sharing practice in education for Citizenship and values in England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

International cooperation International cooperation

The Council of Europe strives to promote synergies and cooperation with other international institutions and organisations. In 2011, an International Contact Group on citizenship and human rights education was set up, with a view to ensure close co-operation among regional and international initiatives in this field.

International Contact Group

Within the Council of Europe Within the Council of Europe

The Council of Europe Education Department works in close cooperation with many other partners within the Organisation, including the Youth Department, the Programme “Building Europe for and with Children”, the Office of the Human Rights Commissioner, the Parliamentary Assembly and the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities.

Read more

Le projet 2014-2015 sur l’éducation à la citoyenneté démocratique et aux droits de l’homme vise à promouvoir une culture de la démocratie et des droits de l’homme par le biais de l’éducation en s’appuyant sur la coopération et le partage de bonnes pratiques entre les Etats parties à la Convention culturelle européenne (CCE).

La Charte du Conseil de l’Europe sur l’éducation à la citoyenneté démocratique et l’éducation aux droits de l’homme, adoptée par les Etats membres du Conseil de l’Europe en 2010, fixe une approche et un cadre communs pour les actions dans ce domaine.  L’objectif global du projet est à contribuer au développement durable de l’éducation à la citoyenneté démocratique et aux droits de l’homme dans les Etats parties à la CCE.

Les objectifs spécifiques sont les suivants :

  • faire mieux connaître la Charte ainsi que son intérêt pour les Etats parties à la CCE dans ce domaine ;
  • élaborer des outils destinés à faciliter la mise en œuvre de la Charte ;
  • favoriser le travail en réseau, les partenariats et la coopération
Coopération multilatérale Coopération multilatérale

Le Conseil de l’Europe soutient l’interconnexion de réseaux et la coopération entre pays, en particulier par le réseau de coordinateurs pour l’éducation à la citoyenneté démocratique et aux droits de l’homme (coordinateurs ECD/EDH). L’évaluation de la mise en œuvre de la charte vise à fournir un aperçu du progrès accompli et des secteurs prioritaires pour de futures actions. La première évaluation s’est tenue en 2012. La seconde est prévue en 2016-2017.

Le Conseil de l’Europe encourage l’apprentissage par les pairs entre pays, en particulier à travers le programme «Droits de l’Homme et Démocratie en Action » soutenu par l’Union européenne et le Conseil de l’Europe. Ce programme finance des projets de coopérations de petite échelle  entre 3 à 8 pays dans le cadre de la Charte.

Coopération bilatérale et programmes joints Coopération bilatérale et programmes joints

Un soutien est apporté à certains pays dans le cadre de programmes conjoints entre la Commission européenne et le Conseil de l'Europe. Ces programmes permettent de mettre en pratique les connaissances spécialisées et les meilleures méthodes acquises et développées grâce à la coopération multilatérale.

Coopération régionale Coopération régionale

Les universités d’été régionales visent à mettre en pratique les politiques, basées sur des programmes de formation et d’interconnexions de réseaux pour des équipes pédagogiques d’Europe de l’Est et d’Europe du Sud-Est. Les universités d’été régionales sont un projet conjoint du Centre européen Wergeland, du Conseil de l’Europe et des autorités de la Pologne et du Monténégro.

Le Conseil de l’Europe soutient le Réseau des cinq nations, un forum unique pour partager les pratiques dans le domaine d l’éducation à la citoyenneté et les valeurs en Angleterre, en Irlande, en Irlande du Nord, en Ecosse et au Pays de Galles.

Coopération internationale Coopération internationale

Le Conseil de l’Europe s’efforce de promouvoir les synergies et la coopération avec d’autres institutions et organisations internationales. En 2011, un Groupe de contact international sur l’éducation à la citoyenneté et aux droits de l’homme a été créé en vue d’assurer une coopération étroite entre les différentes initiatives régionales et internationales dans ce domaine.

Groupe de contact international

Coopération au sein du Conseil de l'Europe Coopération au sein du Conseil de l'Europe

Le service de l’éducation du Conseil de l’Europe travaille en étroite coopération avec bien d’autres acteurs au sein de l’Organisation, parmi lesquels le service de la jeunesse, le programme « Construire une Europe pour et avec les enfants », le Bureau du Commissaire aux droits de l’homme, l’Assemblée parlementaire et le Congrès des pouvoirs locaux et régionaux.

En savoir plus