21 November 2018 - 10.30-12.30 / Council of Europe Hemicycle

Interpretation: FR/EN/RU

Reporting from the labs and Democracy Innovation Award

The Council of Europe’s Democracy Innovation Award is given each year to the World Forum for the most popular democracy initiative presented in the Labs, voted upon by the Forum participants.

World Forum for Democracy 2018: Closing session


Hemicycle of the Council of Europe 21 November 2018 - 10.30-13.00
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page


Professor of Political Science, Stockholm University


Drude Dahlerup is a professor of Political Science at Stockholm University. Her main research area is gender and politics. She is an international consultant on the empowerment of women in politics and a specialist on the implementation of gender quota systems. Spokesperson for the EU-critical center-left June Movement during four Danish referenda in the 1990s.


Professor of Political Science, University of New Mexico


Mala Htun is Professor of Political Science at the University of New Mexico and co-PI and deputy director of ADVANCE at UNM. She is the author of Inclusion Without Representation in Latin America: Gender Quotas and Ethnic Reservations (Cambridge University Press, 2016), Sex and the State: Abortion, Divorce, and the Family under Latin American Dictatorships and Democracies (Cambridge Press, 2003), and The Logics of Gender Justice: State Action on Women’s Rights around the World (Cambridge 2018, co-authored with Laurel Weldon). In 2015, she was named an Andrew Carnegie Fellow. Formerly, she held the Council on Foreign Relations International Affairs Fellowship in Japan, and was a fellow at the Kellogg Institute of the University of Notre Dame and the Radcliffe Institute of Harvard. She has been supported by grants and fellowships from the National Science Foundation, National Institutes of Health, Norwegian Research Council, Social Science Research Council, and National Security Education Program. She has served as a consultant to the World Bank, UN Women, Inter-American Development Bank, and the Inter-American Dialogue. She holds a Ph.D. in political science from Harvard and a A.B. in international relations from Stanford, and was Assistant and then Associate Professor at the New School for Social Research from 2000-2011.



Women’s rights specialist, TV journalist




Director General of Democracy, Council of Europe

Snežana Samardžić-Marković is since 2012 Director General of Democracy at the Council of Europe, in charge of the Organisation’s action promoting democratic innovation, governance, participation and diversity. Her responsibilities include the policy areas of education and youth, local democracy, cultural policies, election assistance, the protection of human dignity, gender equality, children’s rights, and the rights of minorities, societal defences against discrimination, democratic citizenship, social cohesion, intercultural dialogue and democratic responses to crisis situations. Previously, Snežana has held numerous positions in the Serbian Government including as Deputy Director in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for Neighbouring Countries; Assistant Minister of Defence (2005-2007) and Co-President of the Serbia-NATO Defence Reform Group; member of the Foundation Board of WADA, Minister of Youth and Sports (2007-2012) and President of the Fund for Young Talents.



Chair of the Council of Europe Advisory Council on Youth

Anja Olin Pape is 27 years old and lives in Malmö, Sweden. She is an expert in youth participation in political processes. She also works as a consultant, working with integration of young people and refugees, mainly in the labour market. Anja has a history of working with gender equality, human rights and empowerment with young people all over Sweden.

Democracy Award

The Democracy Award will be presented by

JAGLAND Thorbjørn

Thorbjørn JAGLAND

Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Thorbjørn Jagland is the 13th Secretary General of the Council of Europe. Mr. Jagland was elected in September 2009.  In June 2014, he was re-elected, and his second term in office commenced on October 1, 2014. The former Prime Minister and Foreign Minister of Norway, Thorbjørn Jagland, was also the President of the Storting (Norwegian Parliament) and the leader of the Norwegian Labour Party. He is a member of the Norwegian Nobel Committee.