North-South Prize 2016

North-South Centre Strasbourg 31 May 2017
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page
  • Imprimer en PDF
Giuseppina Nicolini and Mbarka Brahmi (© 2013 Reuters/Anis Mili

Giuseppina Nicolini and Mbarka Brahmi (© 2013 Reuters/Anis Mili

Giuseppina Nicolini and Mbarka Brahmi are the two laureates of the XXII North-South Prize of the Council of Europe in recognition of their work towards the promotion of human rights, pluralistic democracy and north-south solidarity.

Giuseppina Nicolini will be awarded for her commitment in the reception of migrants and to the defence of refugees’ rights in Lampedusa, Italy’s southernmost island and one of the main entry points in Europe for migrants. The North-South Centre decided to honour her firm and decisive involvement in the migrant crisis.

Mbarka Brahmi’s role is widely recognised in the defence of women’s rights and the promotion of peace, which are considered especially crucial in the Tunisian democratization process. Mbarka Brahmi is founder of the ‘Centre Brahmi pour la paix et la solidarité’ and President of the ‘Courant Populaire’ party.

The North-South Centre of the Council of Europe distinguishes each year two personalities, one from the ‘North’, the other from the ‘South’, who have excelled in their commitment to human rights, democracy and rule of law, contributing to the north-south dialogue, fostering solidarity, promoting interdependence and creating partnerships.

The award ceremony is taking place in the Senate Room of the Portuguese Parliament, on 31 May at 12h00, with the presence of the President of the Portuguese Republic, Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa, the President of the Portuguese Parliament, Eduardo Ferro Rodrigues and the Deputy Secretary-General of the Council of Europe, Gabriella Battaini-Dragoni.

The North-South Centre empowers civil society through intercultural dialogue & global citizenship education, since its establishment in 1989. Through its multilateral activities, the North-South Centre responds mainly to four priority areas: youth, women, migration and global education.

20 Member States: Andorra, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Croatia, Cyprus, Greece, Holy See, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Morocco, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Spain,Tunisia.

  Live webcast (13.00 Central European Time) 

4-6 April Strasbourg (European Youth Centre)

International Roma Day

follow us


galleries link
@coe on Twitter