Back Council of Europe anti-torture Committee visits Slovenia

A delegation of the Council of Europe's Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (CPT) carried out a periodic visit to Slovenia from 28 March to 4 April 2017. This was the CPT’s fifth visit to that country.
Council of Europe anti-torture Committee visits Slovenia

During the visit, the CPT’s delegation assessed progress made since previous visits and the extent to which the Committee’s recommendations have been implemented. Particular attention was paid to the treatment of and safeguards offered to persons deprived of their liberty by the police and the situation of persons held in prisons. The delegation also examined the situation of foreign nationals deprived of their liberty under aliens legislation and of forensic psychiatric patients.

In the course of the visit, the delegation held consultations with Goran Klemenčič, Minister of Justice, Boštjan Šefic, State Secretary for the Interior, Sandra Tušar, State Secretary for Health, Jože Podržaj, Director General of the Prison Administration, and senior officials from the Ministries of the Interior, Justice and Health, as well as from the Ministry of Labour, Family, Social Affairs and Equal Opportunities.

The delegation also met Vlasta Nussdorfer, Ombudsperson, and Ivan Šelih, Deputy Ombudsman and Head of the National Preventive Mechanism (NPM) established under the Optional Protocol to the United Nations Convention against Torture (OPCAT), as well as other senior representatives of the Ombudsperson’s Office and the NPM.

Meetings were also held with representatives of the UNHCR and members of non-governmental organisations active in areas of concern to the CPT.

At the end of the visit, the delegation presented its preliminary observations to the Slovenian authorities.

The visit was carried out by the following members of the CPT:

  • Antonius van Kalmthout (Head of delegation)
  • Matthías Halldórsson
  • Arta Mandro
  • Esther Marogg
  • Ivona Todorovska
  • Olivera Vulić.

They were supported by Petr Hnátík and Almut Schröder of the Committee's Secretariat.

The delegation visited the following places of deprivation of liberty:

Establishments under the Ministry of the Interior
  • Koper Police Station
  • Ljubljana Centre Police Station
  • Ljubljana – Moste Police Detention Centre
  • Maribor I. Police Station
  • Piran Police Detention Centre
  • Postojna Detention Centre for Foreigners
Establishments under the Ministry of Justice
  • Koper Prison (targeted visit focused on the situation of remand prisoners)
  • Ljubljana Prison
  • Maribor Prison
Establishments under the Ministry of Health
  • Forensic Unit of the Psychiatric Department of Maribor University Hospital.
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page