Good governance

Democratic institutions and governance Department, Good Governance Division


The Good Governance Division contributes to the implementation of the intergovernmental co-operation activities as well as of the assistance and cooperation programmes with member States in the field of democratic governance. The Division participates in the promotion of standards aiming at assuring democratic governance and in the dissemination of best practice in the field. The work is to ensure the material, operational and legal Secretariat of four complementary pillars.


The European Committee on Democracy and Governance (CDDG)

The CDDG is a committee established in 2014, developing new working methods and working in areas that are relevant and of interest to the member States. For 2014-2015, the activities focus on the following themes: territorial reforms, citizensí democratic participation in public life, modernisation of public administration, dialogue and relations between tiers of government, public finances and cross-border cooperation.


The Strategy on Innovation and Good Governance Reform

The Strategy was adopted by the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe in 2008 as a tool which twelve principles of good democratic governance encourage local authorities to assess and if necessary improve the quality of their governance. The Strategy is accompanied by a European Label of Governance Excellence.


The Centre of Expertise for Local Government Reform

The Centre assists central, regional and local authorities to improve their institutional capacity and performance in delivering services and exercising public authority. It offers advices and practical assistance, and works with ministries, national associations of local authorities, professional associations and training institutions to implement capacity-building programmes.


The Conference of Ministers responsible for Spatial/Regional Planning (CEMAT)

The CEMAT has as objective the promotion of the territorial dimension of human rights and democracy for a sustainable special development. The CEMAT is the only Pan-European platform for co-operation and exchange of best practices between States on spatial development.


Eastern Partnership Programme

The European Commission and the Council of Europe have signed a new joint cooperation agreement which is launched from this year, namely, the Council of Europe/European Union Eastern Partnership Programmatic Co-operation Framework (PCF). The Agreement covers the period 2015-2017 and the beneficiary countries are Armenia, Azerbaijan, Moldova, Georgia, Belarus and Ukraine.