Назад Council of Europe anti-torture Committee (CPT) visits Slovakia

A delegation of the Council of Europe's Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (CPT) carried out a periodic visit to the Slovak Republic from 28 November to 8 December 2023. It was the Committee’s seventh visit to this country.
Council of Europe anti-torture Committee (CPT) visits Slovakia

In the course of the visit, the delegation examined the treatment and safeguards afforded to persons deprived of their liberty by the police and the treatment of persons in prison and their conditions of detention. Further, it assessed the treatment of persons placed at Hronovce Detention Institute, of involuntary patients in two civil psychiatric facilities and of foreign nationals held at Medveďov Immigration Detention Facility. Particular attention was paid to the measures taken by the authorities to implement recommendations made by the Committee after its previous visits.

During the visit, the delegation held consultations with Pavol Gašpar, State Secretary of the Ministry of Justice, Lucia Kurilovská, State Secretary of the Ministry of the Interior, Michal Štofko, State Secretary of the Ministry of Health, Michal Sedliak, Director General of the Prison Service, and Ľubomír Solák, President of the Police Force, as well as other senior officials from the Ministries and services concerned.

The delegation also met Róbert Dobrovodský, Public Defender of Rights (Ombudsperson), Jozef Mikloško, Commissioner for the Rights of Children, and Zuzana Stavrovská, Commissioner for Persons with Disabilities, and senior representatives of their offices. Further, meetings were held with representatives of non‑governmental organisations active in areas of concern to the CPT.

At the end of the visit, the delegation presented its preliminary observations to the Slovak authorities.

The visit was carried out by the following members of the CPT:

  • Marie Kmecová (Head of Delegation)
  • Gergely Fliegauf
  • Helena Papa
  • Asbjørn Rachlew
  • Aleksandar Tomčuk
  • Elsa Bára Traustadóttir.

They were supported by Petr Hnátík and Vera Manuello of the Committee's Secretariat, and assisted by an expert, Marzena Ksel, medical doctor, former Head of the Medical Department of the Prison Service, Poland.


The delegation visited the following places of deprivation of liberty:

Establishments operating under the authority of the Ministry of the Interior

  • Bratislava Regional Police Directorate
  • Bratislava Aliens Police Department
  • Nitra Regional Police Directorate
  • Rožňava District Police Department
  • Trnava Regional Police Directorate
  • Žilina Regional Police Directorate
  • Žilina-West District Police Department
  • Medveďov Immigration Detention Facility

Establishments operating under the authority of the Ministry of Justice

  • Hrnčiarovce nad Parnou Prison
  • Ružomberok Prison
  • Žilina Prison

The delegation also went to Bratislava Remand Prison in order to interview newly admitted remand prisoners who had recently been in police custody.

Establishments operating under the authority of the Ministry of Health

  • Psychiatric department of Bratislava University Hospital (Saints Cyril and Methodius Hospital)
  • Psychiatric department of Rožňava Hospital
  • Hronovce Detention Institute.
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page