The International Advisory Panel (“the Panel” and “IAP”) was constituted by the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, Thorbjørn Jagland, to oversee that the investigations into the violent incidents which took place in Ukraine from 30 November 2013 onwards met all the requirements of the European Convention on Human Rights and the case-law of the European Court of Human Rights.

From left to right: Oleg Anpilogov, Nicolas Bratza, Volodymyr Butkevych, Thorbjørn Jagland

Atrás Ukraine’s reforms the focus of high-level Council of Europe meeting

Pavlo Petrenko and Thorbjørn Jagland

Pavlo Petrenko and Thorbjørn Jagland

As a continuation of the Day of Ukrainian Reforms, Ukrainian Justice Minister Pavlo Petrenko met today in Strasbourg with the Secretary General of the Council of Europe to discuss the co-operation between the organization and Ukraine, and to sign on behalf of Ukraine the European Agreement on the Transmission of Applications for Legal Aid.

The Agreement is designed to eliminate economic obstacles to proceedings and to permit persons in an economically weak position more easily to exercise their rights. It provides that persons having their habitual residence in the territory of a state-Party to this Agreement may apply for legal aid in civil, commercial or administrative matters in the territory of another state-Party.

Ukraine became the 33rd member of the Council of Europe to have signed this Agreement. Twelve states (Andorra, Armenia, Croatia, Hungary, Liechtenstein, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, the Russian Federation, San-Marino, Slovakia and Slovenia) have neither signed nor ratified it. Germany and Iceland have signed the Agreement in 1999 and 2000, respectively, but its ratification in these countries is still pending.

The Day of Ukrainian Reforms in the Council of Europe has been organized by the Permanent Representation of Ukraine, in cooperation with the Council of Europe and Estonian Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers. The first part of the event that took place on 3 October 2016, focused on the implementation of the 2015-2017 Council of Europe Action Plan for Ukraine.

Gabriella Battaini-Dragoni, Deputy Secretary General of the Council of Europe, in her opening speech  identified important steps taken by Ukraine, including the adoption of the constitutional amendments and other laws relating to the judiciary, making operational the newly-created institutions to prevent and prosecute corruption, completing the reform of a new National Police. More determination is required on decentralization, fighting corruption, transforming the Prosecutor General’s Office and ensuring stronger guarantees for the safety and protection of journalists, she said.

Pavlo Klimkin, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Ukraine, updated the event participants on the progress of reforms, stressed the need to mobilize additional support for the implementation of the Action plan and pledged continued commitment to co-operation with the Council of Europe.

Katrin Kivi, Permanent Representative of Estonia, Chairperson of the Ministers' Deputies who spoke on behalf of the Committee of Ministers, underlined the importance of further support by the Council of Europe’s member States to building a democratic society in Ukraine.

Photos of the signing ceremony on the 4th of October, and video and photos of the opening session of the Day of Ukrainian Reforms on the 3rd of October are available upon request.

VIDEO: The Day of Ukrainian Reforms

See also:

Action Plan for Ukraine 2015 – 2017
Ukraine and the Council of Europe

Council of Europe Strasbourg 4 October 2016
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page

  IAP Members

  • Sir Nicolas Bratza
    IAP Chairman, former President of the European Court of Human Rights
  • Mr Volodymyr Butkevych
    IAP Member, former Judge of the European Court of Human Rights
  • Mr Oleg Anpilogov
    IAP Member, member of Kharkiv Regional Council

  Media contact

Daniel Holtgen
Phone : +33 (0)3 90 21 50 20
E-mail : [email protected]
Daniel Holtgen on Twitter : @CoESpokesperson