Multimedia resources

On our multimedia website, please make use of images, photos and videos, together with audio source material, podcasts and press releases.

The site is available in English, French, German, Italian and Russian.

Video gallery

Vous devez activer Javascript dans votre navigateur
ou mettre à jour votre version du Flash Player
pour pouvoir accéder au contenu de ce site !

Obtenir le Flash Player

European pioneers

Duration: 2m 56s

On 5 May 1949 in St James's Palace, London, the Foreign Ministers of Belgium, Denmark, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and the United Kingdom sign the Treaty establishing the Council of Europe.

On 4 November 1950, in Rome, the Council of Europe’s Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms – the first international legal instrument safeguarding human rights is signed.