European Court of Human Rights Strasbourg 18 April 2019
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page
  • Imprimer en PDF
European human rights moot court competition

Students from University of Oxford (United Kingdom) were declared winners of the seventh edition of the European Moot Court Competition in English on the European Convention on Human Rights, after beating a team from the Sofia University "St. Kliment Ohridshi" (Bulgaria) in the final round.

  • The prize for Best Orator of the Finals was awarded to Pavla Tsvetkova, from the Sofia University "St. Kliment Ohridshi".
  • The prize for Best Respondent Written Submission was given to the teams from Maastricht University (the Netherlands)
  • The prize for Best Applicant Written Submission was awarded to Masaryk University Brno (Czech Republic).

The final round took place at the European Court of Human Rights in Strasbourg on the 18th of April 2019, with a bench of Judges comprised of prominent figures from the Court and several senior Council of Europe officials.


Twenty university teams from thirteen countries (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Poland, Romania, Russia, the Netherlands, Ukraine, and the United Kingdom) have competed in a fictive case regarding cyber harassment and hate speech. The winning team is awarded a traineeship at the Court. In total, over a 100 teams have applied to be a part of this edition.

The EHRMCC aims at giving law students, who are future lawyers or judges, practical experience on the European Convention on Human Rights and its implementation.

The competition is organised by the European Law Students Association (ELSA) with the support of the Council of Europe. ELSA is an independent and non-profit organisation representing 54 000 students, located in around 350 universities in 44 European countries.

Several countries from the Council of Europe have financially contributed to the organisation of this sixth competition, in particular Finland, the current Chair of the Council of Europe Committee of Ministers, Ireland, Poland, Spain, Switzerland and Turkey as well as the City of Strasbourg. 


ЭЛСА является независимой, неполитической, некоммерческой организацией, созданной и управляемой студентами юридических факультетов в интересах своих коллег и молодых юристов. В организацию входит 40 000 студентов и недавних выпускников университетов. Она осуществляет свою деятельность главным образом в рамках локальных групп, созданных на базе около 300 университетов из 43-х стран Европы.

Среди основных целей ЭЛСА – содействие обучению праву и повышение осведомленности о правах человека. В 2008 г. Совет Европы заключил с ЭЛСА соглашение о сотрудничестве.

Предыдущие конкурсы