"Hate crimes" and other hate-motivated incidents

Member states should ensure effective, prompt and impartial investigations into alleged cases of crimes and other incidents, where the sexual orientation or gender identity of the victim is reasonably suspected to have constituted a motive for the perpetrator; they should further ensure that particular attention is paid to the investigation of such crimes and incidents when allegedly committed by law enforcement officials or by other persons acting in an official capacity, and that those responsible for such acts are effectively brought to justice and, where appropriate, punished in order to avoid impunity.

Member states should ensure that when determining sanctions, a bias motive related to sexual orientation or gender identity may be taken into account as an aggravating circumstance.

Member states should take appropriate measures to ensure that victims and witnesses of sexual orientation or gender identity related "hate crimes" and other hate-motivated incidents are encouraged to report these crimes and incidents; for this purpose, member states should take all necessary steps to ensure that law enforcement structures, including the judiciary, have the necessary knowledge and skills to identify such crimes and incidents and provide adequate assistance and support to victims and witnesses.

Member states should take appropriate measures to ensure the safety and dignity of all persons in prison or in other ways deprived of their liberty, including lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender persons, and in particular take protective measures against physical assault, rape and other forms of sexual abuse, whether committed by other inmates or staff; measures should be taken so as to adequately protect and respect the gender identity of transgender persons.

Member states should ensure that relevant data are gathered and analysed on the prevalence and nature of discrimination and intolerance on grounds of sexual orientation or gender identity, and in particular on "hate crimes" and hate-motivated incidents related to sexual orientation or gender identity.


"Hate speech"

Member states should take appropriate measures to combat all forms of expression, including in the media and on the Internet, which may be reasonably understood as likely to produce the effect of inciting, spreading or promoting hatred or other forms of discrimination against lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender persons. Such "hate speech" should be prohibited and publicly disavowed whenever it occurs. All measures should respect the fundamental right to freedom of expression in accordance with Article 10 of the Convention and the case law of the Court.

Member states should raise awareness among public authorities and public institutions at all levels of their responsibility to refrain from statements, in particular to the media, which may reasonably be understood as legitimising such hatred or discrimination.

Public officials and other state representatives should be encouraged to promote tolerance and respect for the human rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender persons whenever they engage in a dialogue with key representatives of the civil society, including media and sports organisations, political organisations and religious communities.

Social media Social media
   Facebook

« Crimes de haine » et autres incidents motivés par la haine

Les Etats membres devraient enquêter efficacement, rapidement et de manière impartiale sur les allégations d’infractions pénales et autres incidents pour lesquels l’orientation sexuelle ou l’identité de genre de la victime peut être raisonnablement soupçonnée d’avoir été l’un des motifs de l’auteur du crime ; ils devraient en outre veiller à ce qu’une attention particulière soit accordée aux enquêtes sur ce type de crime et incidents dès lors que le suspect est un agent des services répressifs, ou toute autre personne agissant dans le cadre de fonctions officielles, et à ce que les responsables de tels actes soient effectivement poursuivis en justice et, le cas échéant, sanctionnés afin d’empêcher toute impunité.

Les Etats membres devraient veiller à ce que, lors de la détermination d’une peine, un mobile fondé sur un préjugé lié à l’orientation sexuelle ou à l’identité de genre puisse être pris en compte en tant que circonstance aggravante.

Les Etats membres devraient prendre les mesures appropriées pour s’assurer que les victimes et les témoins de « crimes de haine » ou d’autres incidents motivés par la haine fondée sur l’orientation sexuelle ou l’identité de genre soient encouragés à dénoncer ces crimes et incidents ; dans ce but, les Etats membres devraient prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires pour veiller à ce que les différentes structures répressives, y compris le système judiciaire, disposent des connaissances et des compétences requises pour identifier de tels crimes et incidents, et apporter une assistance et un soutien adéquats aux victimes et témoins.

Les Etats membres devraient prendre des mesures appropriées afin d’assurer la sécurité et la dignité de toute personne placée en prison ou se trouvant dans d’autres situations de privation de liberté, y compris des personnes lesbiennes, gays, bisexuelles et transgenres, et, en particulier, prendre des mesures de protection contre les agressions physiques, les viols et les autres formes de sévices sexuels, qu’ils soient commis par des codétenus ou par le personnel ; des dispositions devraient également être prises afin de préserver et de respecter de manière appropriée l’identité de genre des personnes transgenres.

Les Etats membres devraient veiller à ce que des données pertinentes soient rassemblées et analysées sur la prévalence et la nature des discriminations et de l’intolérance fondées sur l’orientation sexuelle ou l’identité de genre, et en particulier en ce qui concerne les « crimes de haine » et les incidents motivés par la haine liés à l’orientation sexuelle ou l’identité de genre.


« Discours de haine »

Les Etats membres devraient prendre les mesures appropriées afin de combattre toutes les formes d’expression, notamment dans les médias et sur internet, pouvant raisonnablement être comprises comme susceptibles d’inciter, de propager ou de promouvoir la haine ou d’autres formes de discrimination à l’égard des personnes lesbiennes, gays, bisexuelles et transgenres. Ces « discours de haine » devraient être prohibés et condamnés publiquement en toute occasion ; toutes les mesures devraient respecter le droit fondamental à la liberté d’expression, conformément à l’article 10 de la Convention et à la jurisprudence de la Cour.

Les Etats membres devraient sensibiliser les autorités et les organismes publics à tous les niveaux sur leur responsabilité de s’abstenir de faire des déclarations, notamment aux médias, pouvant raisonnablement être interprétées comme cautionnant de telles attitudes haineuses ou discriminatoires.

Les autorités publiques et autres représentants de l’Etat devraient être encouragés à promouvoir la tolérance et le respect des droits de l’homme des personnes lesbiennes, gays, bisexuelles et transgenres dès lors qu’ils dialoguent avec les représentants principaux de la société civile, notamment les organisations de médias et sportives, les organisations politiques et les communautés religieuses.

Médias sociaux Médias sociaux
   Facebook