Task and structureThe Pompidou Group’s core mission is to contribute to the development of effective and evidence-based drug policies in its member states.

It provides a multidisciplinary forum at the wider European level where it is possible for policy-makers, professionals and researchers to discuss and exchange information and ideas on the whole range of drug misuse and trafficking problems.

It seeks to link policy, practice and science and it focuses particularly on the realities of the implementation of local drug programmes.

Activities

The objectives of the Pompidou Group are laid out in the work programme, which is drawn up by the Permanent Correspondents and approved by the Ministerial Conference. The work programme specifies the activities that will be carried out during a four-year period. It defines the purpose of these activities as well as, to the extent possible, the form that they will take, their target group, the timescale and the financial aspects.

Financing

The Pompidou Group is a Partial Agreement within the Council of Europe. This is “a form of co-operation allowing the pursuit of certain activities not supported by all member states of the Council of Europe. Consequently, only interested member states participate in such an Agreement and bear the costs.”

Besides their contribution to the general budget, participating countries can also contribute towards specific goals. Such additional contributions are particularly relevant where a country or countries propose(s) an activity which is a priority only for a small group of members.

The Pompidou Group’s general budget for 2015 amounts to 1 285 100 €.

Rôles et structureLe Groupe Pompidou a pour mission principale de contribuer à l’élaboration dans ses pays membres de politiques de drogue, efficaces et basées sur des connaissances validées.

Il représente un forum multidisciplinaire au sein de la grande Europe qui permet aux responsables politiques, aux professionnels et aux chercheurs d’échanger des idées et des informations sur les divers problèmes posés par l’abus et le trafic illicite des stupéfiants.

Il vise à faire le lien entre la politique, la pratique et la recherche et s’intéresse particulièrement aux réalités de la mise en œuvre de programmes de drogues au niveau local.

Activités

Les objectifs du Groupe Pompidou sont énoncés dans le programme de travail élaboré par les Correspondants permanents et approuvé par les Ministres lors de la Conférence ministérielle. Ce programme fixe les activités qui seront menées pendant une période de quatre ans. Le but des activités et, dans la mesure du possible, leur forme, le groupe cible, la durée et les aspects financiers y sont également présentés.

Financement

Le Groupe Pompidou est un Accord partiel au sein du Conseil de l'Europe. Il s'agit d'une « forme de coopération permettant à certains états membres d'entreprendre certaines activités qui ne sont pas poursuivies par tous les états membres du Conseil de l'Europe. Par conséquent, seuls les Etats intéressés participent à l'activité et en supportent les frais ».

En plus de leur contribution au budget général, les pays membres peuvent également participer financièrement à des objectifs spécifiques. De telles contributions sont particulièrement justifiées lorsqu'un pays (ou plusieurs) propose une activité qui ne représente une priorité que pour un groupe restreint de membres.

Le budget du Groupe pour 2015 est de 1 285 100 €.