Key documents



. Recommendation Rec (2004)11 on legal,

  operational and technical standards for


. E-voting handbook - implementation of

  e-enabled elections

. Guidelines on certification of e-voting


. Guidelines on transparency of e-enabled


. Reports of biennial Reviews 2008 and


. Council of Europe studies on e-voting

. National developments on e-voting



. Recommendation (2009)1 on

  e-democracy and Explanatory


  (PdF version   -  Word version)

. Practical tools to Rec(2009)1

. Glossary of technical terms in the field

  of electronic democracy


Internet governance

. Recommendation (2004)15 and

  explanatory memorandum



Texts submitted by the Council of Europe


. IGF 2010

. IGF 2009

. IGF 2008

. WSIS 2005

. WSIS 2003


Internet literacy

Internet literacy handbook








Useful external links


. E-voting

. E-democracy

. Internet governance

. Internet literacy

. Media & elections


Directorate General of Political Affairs

Project “Good Governance in the Information Society”

Direction Générale des Affaires Politiques
Projet «  Bonne gouvernance dans la société de l’Information »

GGIS(2006)1E Fin.

Strasbourg, 23 November 2006

Meeting to Review developments in the field of e-voting since the adoption of Recommendation Rec(2004)11 of the Committee of Ministers to member states on legal, operational and technical standards for e-voting

    Strasbourg, Palais de l’Europe, Room 10
    23-24 November 2006

Opening of the meeting: Thursday, 23 November at 9.30 am
Closing of the meeting: Friday, 24 November at 5 pm
(including links to presentations)

Thursday, 23 November

9.30 am Opening session

Introduction of participants

Background and objectives of the meeting – Introductory statement by the Secretariat

10.15 am First Session: E-voting initiatives and good practice in member states

      Chair: Mr José-Manuel Rodriguez, Ministry of Public Administration, Spain, Chairman of the Multidisciplinary Ad-Hoc Group on legal, operational and technical standards for e-enabled voting (IP1-S-EE, 2003-2004)

      Ms Nadja Braun, Swiss Federal Chancellery, Head of e-voting project: An evaluation of Swiss e-voting Pilot Projects and how to proceed


    Ms Epp Maaten, Councillor of the elections department

      Chancellery of the Riigikogu: The nationwide e-voting pilot at the Estonian local elections in 2005

      Mr Marc Pichon de Vendeuil, Deputy Head of the Office for Elections and Political Studies, Ministry of the Interior and Spatial Planning: The e-voting Pilot for expatriate voters in June 2006

11 – 11.30 am Coffee break

      The Netherlands:
      Ms Susanne Caarls, Ministry of the Interior and Kingdom Relations: The e-voting Pilot for expatriate voters in November 2006

      Russian Federation:
      Mr Victor V. Yashchenko, Head of the Federal Center of Information Technologies under the Central Election Commission of the Russian Federation: Report on the application of Information technologies in the Russian Federation 2004-2006

      Mr Marcus Brixskiöld, Director, Division for democratic issues and Human Rights, Ministry of Justice: The role of local governments with regard to pilot projects on e-consultation, with a view to using e-voting in referendums

      Progress reports from other Council of Europe member states


1 pm Lunch break

2.30 pm Second Session: Reports from relevant recent events

      Chair: Mr Michael Remmert, Head of the “Good Governance in the Information Society” project, Council of Europe

      Mr Alexander Trechsel, Professor at the European University Institute: Conference on e-Voting: Lessons learnt and future challenges, Tallinn,
      27-28 October 2006

      Mr Robert Krimmer, Competence Centre for Electronic Voting and Participation, Austria: Second International Workshop on e-voting, Castle Hofen near Bregenz/Austria, 2-4 August 2006

      Mr Thomas Buchsbaum, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Austria, Chairman of the Ad Hoc Committee on e-democracy (CAHDE): The potential of ICT to facilitate public participation in addition to electoral processes


3.30 pm Coffee Break

4 pm – 5pm Third session: Assessing the scope of e-voting in Council of Europe member states

United Kingdom:


5.30 pm Reception offered by the Director General of Political Affairs, Blue Restaurant of the Council of Europe

Friday, 24 November

9.30 am Third session continued

Ms Gabriele Roth, Federal Ministry of the Interior:



10.45 am Coffee break

11.15 am Fourth session: Technical issues

      Chair: Mr Michel Warynski, Head of the Geneva e-voting Project, Chancellery of the Republic and Canton of Geneva, Switzerland, Chairman of the Technical sub-group of IP1-S-EE (EE-S-TS, 2003-2004)

      Mr Herbert Leitold, Secure Information Technology Center, Graz, Austria: Overview of technical developments

      Mr Gerhard Skagestein, Norway (awarded prize for best paper at Bregenz e-voting Workshop 2006): Increasing trust in remote e-voting

      Mr John Borras, UK, OASIS: EML (Election Markup Language) and other technical aspects

      Ms Melanie Volkamer, German Research Centre for Artificial Intelligence, Saarbrücken: The Project on “Protection Profiles for e-voting systems”


12.30 pm Lunch

2 pm Fifth session: Activities and projects by International Organisations and other stakeholders


3.15 pm Concluding session: Looking ahead - Future prospects and challenges, and the role of the Council of Europe

General Discussion

4.15 pm Press briefing