The Congress’ reform project was scrutinized at the 19th Session of the Congress on 26-28 October in Strasbourg. The adopted proposals included changes of the Congress’ structures and working methods and priorities for 2011-2012. During the session, the Congress’ members also discussed, among other issues, draft recommendations on local democracy in Estonia, Montenegro and Russia as well as on the observation of the municipal elections in Georgia. (More...)

The Congress’ reform and election of a new presidency The European Charter of Local Self-Government

The Congress’ members adopted priorities for 2011-2012 and proposals to change its structures. A new presidency was also elected.

A round table on "A Charter for the future of our communities" was organised on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the European Charter of Local Self-Government.
Monitoring Election observation

Following the monitoring missions carried out in Estonia, Montenegro and Russia in spring 2010, the Congress examined reports on the state of democracy in these countries.

The session staged a debate on the municipal elections held in Georgia on 30 May 2010. The report presented by Günther Krug (Germany, SOC) was the result of an election observation mission conducted by the Congress.
Social integration Sustainable development

The Congress’ members adopted two resolutions calling on the European local authorities to take concrete measures to foster integration of Muslim women and of young people from disadvantaged neighbourhoods.

During the session three debates took place on: development of mountain regions; public action for landscape; and, the impact of climate change on coastal areas.

The other debates
New leadership of the Congress [29/10/2010]
During its 19th Session in Strasbourg (France) from 26 to 28 October 2010, the Congress elected its new leadership as follows: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG) – President of the Congress; Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC) – President of the Chamber of Local Authorities; Herwig Van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD) – President of the Chamber of Regions. Each Chamber also elected seven Vice-Presidents who, together with the Presidents, constitute the Congress Bureau. Lars O. Molin (Sweden, EPP/CD) was elected President of the Monitoring Committee, Karl-Heinz Lambertz (Belgium, SOC) President of the Governance Committee and Emin Yeritsyan (Armenia, EPP/CD) President of the Current Affairs Committee. Keith Whitmore remained President of the ILDG Group and Herwig Van Staa President of the EPP/CD Group, while Günther Krug was elected President of the Socialist (SOC) Group.  (more...)
[28/10/2010]  Iñigo de la Serna Hernáiz: “Short, medium and long-term responses are crucial in improving the resilience of coastal towns to maritime threats”
[28/10/2010]  Congress adopts two resolutions on integration of Muslim women and integration of young people from disadvantaged neighbourhoods
[28/10/2010]  Miklos Marschall: ''There are methods and rules for fighting corruption at local and regional level''
[28/10/2010]  Territorial democracy in Russia: Congress calls for restoring direct elections of regional governors
[28/10/2010]  George Ugulava: “The 30 May elections in Georgia constituted a significant step towards further democratisation”
[28/10/2010]  Devrim Cukur: “Increased attention must be paid to the landscape from all levels of governance”
[28/10/2010]  Manuel Chaves González: “Improved intergovernmental dialogue is essential for achieving the goals of the Utrecht Conference”
[28/10/2010]  Herwig Van Staa : “The transfer of powers to local and regional authorities inevitably comes with corruption risks”
[27/10/2010]  Musa Xhaferri: 'The Committee of Ministers supports the renewal and streamlining of the Congress'

All the news of the 19th Session

Keith Whitmore elected President of the Congress

Keith Whitmore, nouveau Président du Congrès des pouvoirs locaux et régionaux
At the opening of the 19th Session, on 26 October 2010, Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Congress’ Institutional Committee and of its Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), was elected President of the Congress. In the first round of the election, he obtained 157 votes (an absolute majority), and Ian Micallef (Malta, EPP/CD) 66 votes out of the 230 votes cast. ''It is a great pride for me to be able to steer a new, reformed Congress for the next two years, and to strengthen its role as the guardian of local and regional democracy in Europe,'' he said. (more...) 
Session agenda


Communication Division
+33 (0)3 90 21 52 40

Table Office

Dolores Ríos Turón
+33 (0)3 88 41 34 51