Cyprus Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers and grassroots democracy

The Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers passed from Estonia to Cyprus, at the end of a session held on 22 November 2016 in Strasbourg and attended by the Ministers for Foreign Affairs of the Council of Europe's 47 member states. The outgoing Chair, Estonian Foreign Minister Jürgen Ligi, presented the stocktaking of his country's achievements during his chairmanship. The new Chair of the Committee of Ministers, Ioannis Kasoulides, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Cyprus, presented the priorities of her country's chairmanship which will run for the forthcoming six months as of today.

The Chair of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe addresses the members of the Congress [30/03/2017]
“Both your programmes and ours are aimed at promoting the Council of Europe’s values, bolstering inter-institutional co-operation and enhancning relations with our neighbouring countries” said Ioannis Kasoulides, Chair of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe and Cypriot Minister for Foreign Affairs, when addressing the members of the Congress on 29 March 2017. Cyprus was currently planning to reform its local government arrangements and he referred to the recommendation on local democracy in Cyprus, adopted by the Congress in October 2016. He also drew attention to the numerous areas in which both the Cypriot authorities and the Congress were working, in particular to prevent radicalisation, integrate refugees and migrants, and take action against Anti-Gypsyism. “The Congress” priority, which is to improve the quality of local and regional democracy, in particular by raising awareness of human rights at local and regional level and by promoting ethical conduct and transparency, is particularly important and necessary”, he said. He also mentioned the crisis in Turkey following the failed coup d’Etat in July 2016 and said that it was the Cypriot Chairmanship’s aim “to assist the Turkish authorities to overcome the difficulties the country is facing, while ensuring compliance with our common standards with regard to human rights, democracy and the rule of law”. A debate on the detention of elected mayors and their replacement by persons designated by the government is on the agenda of the 32nd Session, following a fact-finding visit to Turkey in 2016. 
[14/02/2017]  Theme of ELDW 2017: “Citizen participation, consultation and commitment for a thriving local democracy”
[13/02/2017]  President of the Congress holds political meetings before the Congress Bureau meeting in Nicosia
[08/02/2017]  Congress Bureau meeting in Nicosia
[26/01/2017]  The President of Cyprus meets the President of the Congress: “The expertise of the Congress is very useful for us”

Documents "Cyprus: activities and texts of the Congress"


Delegation of Cyprus

The Cyprus delegation to the Congress comprises 3 representatives and 3 substitutes. The head of the delegation is Stavros YEROLATSITES.
Cyprus delegation
Texts adopted by the Congress

Local democracy in Cyprus
Recommendation 389 (2016)
Report CPL31(2016)05 (2016)

Saïda Theophile, Head of institutional Communication Unit
Email / Tél. + 33 3 90 21 48 95