Belgian Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers and grassroots democracy


Communication by the Congress Secretary General to the Committee of Ministers – 15 April 2015 [16/04/2015]
In a communication to the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe on 15 April 2015, Andreas Kiefer, Congress Secretary General, who was elected for a second 5-year mandate during the 28th session of the Congress, presented developments at the Congress over the past five years. In particular, he underlined the Congress’s enhanced role as a political assembly, monitoring and election observation body and provider of operational projects. He stressed the importance of the Committee of Ministers’ political support in these developments. In presenting the recent activities of the Congress, he gave details of the practical results achieved a year and a half after the introduction of the new post-monitoring policy. “We are engaged in a fruitful dialogue with several member states (Ukraine, Portugal, Georgia and Armenia). The preparation of ‘roadmaps’ is an effective element in the implementation of our recommendations,” he said. In this connection, he pointed out that, on 23 March, the Congress Bureau had approved guidelines for the implementation of co-operation activities in Council of Europe member states. The Secretary General also reported on the 28th session of the Congress, which was held from 24 to 26 March 2015 under the general theme of “local responses to human rights challenges”.  
[24/03/2015]  Isabelle Weykmans: 'Developing democratic representation and local governance is one of the priorities of the Belgian Chairmanship of the Council of Europe''
[20/03/2015]  Leen Verbeek : ''Combating terrorism also involves action at local and regional level''
[10/02/2015]  Congress activity report available in 5 languages: english, french, german, italian and russian
[04/02/2015]  Congress Bureau: exchange of views with the Chair of the Committee of Ministers’ Rapporteur Group on Democracy

Documents "Belgium: activities and texts of the Congress"


Delegation of Belgium

The Belgium delegation to the Congress comprises 7 representatives and 7 substitutes. The head of the delegation is Johan SAUWENS.
Belgian delegation
Texts adopted by the Congress

Local and regional democracy in Belgium
Recommendation 366 (2014)
Report CG(27)7


Saïda Theophile
Head of the Institutional Communication Unit
Email / Tél. + 33 3 90 21 48 95