The Commissioner for Human Rights is an independent institution within the Council of Europe, mandated to promote the awareness of and respect for human rights in 47 Council of Europe member states. Read more on the Mandate of the Commissioner

The initiative for setting up the institution was taken by the Council of Europe's Heads of State and Government at their Second Summit in Strasbourg on 10-11 October 1997. On 7 May 1999, the Committee of Ministers adopted a resolution which instituted the office of the Commissioner and elaborated the Commissioner's mandate. The current Commissioner, Ms Dunja Mijatović, succeeded Mr. Nils Muižnieks (2012-2018), Thomas Hammarberg (2006-2012) and Álvaro Gil-Robles (1999-2006).

The Commissioner in Action For Human Rights The Commissioner in Action For Human Rights
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page
  • Imprimer en PDF
Published on 24 Apr 2013

The clip shows how the Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights works.
Children's Rights Children's Rights
Protecting Children's Rights
Children's rights continue to be violated all over Europe. Moreover, children are not always recognised as full bearers of human rights. Read more