The Council of Europe was established in 1949 by ten states (Belgium, Denmark, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, United Kingdom)

Today, the organisation counts 46 member states, out of which 27 are members of the European Union.

Five non-European states have been granted the observer status: the Holy See, the United States, Canada, Japan, Mexico.

Belarus is the only applicant country which has not join yet, due to its serious shortcomings in respect of human rights and democratic principles.


Member States by accession date:

10.05.1949    Belgium, Denmark, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Norway, Netherlands, Sweden, United Kingdom

09.08.1949    Greece, Türkiye

1950    Iceland, Germany

1956    Austria

1961    Cyprus

1963    Switzerland

1965    Malta

1976    Portugal

1977    Spain

1978    Liechtenstein

1988    San Marino

1989    Finland

1990    Hungary

1991    Poland

1992    Bulgaria

1993    Czech Republic, Estonia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia

1994    Andora

1995    Albania, Latvia, Moldova, North Macedonia, Ukraine

1996    Croatia

1999    Georgia

2001    Armenia, Azerbaijan

2002    Bosnia and Herzegovina

2003    Serbia

2004    Monaco

2007    Montenegro