France takes over the Presidency of the Committee of Ministers

Presidency of the Committee of Ministers Helsinki 17 May 2019
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page
  • Imprimer en PDF
Amélie de Montchalin and Timo Soini

Amélie de Montchalin and Timo Soini

The Presidency of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe passed today from Finland to France, after a meeting attended by 30 foreign affairs ministers from the Organisation’s member countries.

Addressing the Committee of Ministers, the outgoing Chairman, Timo Soini, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Finland, took stock of his country’s Presidency.

Amélie de Montchalin, France’s Secretary of State for European Affairs, then outlined the priorities of the French Presidency for the next six months.

The main goals of the French Presidency are to preserve and strengthen the European system of human rights protection, to strive towards a Europe that brings people closer together and fosters unity, and to promote equality and a culture of “living together” as well as ensuring the Council of Europe adapts to the times and addresses the new challenges surrounding human rights and the rule of law (in particular digital technology issues and artificial intelligence).

See also:

Events Events
6 December Strasbourg (Palais de l’Europe, Room 7, 2pm-5.30pm)

Applying the cybercrime frame to digital violence against women

7 and 9 December Strasbourg (European Youth Centre)

Youth work in war contexts in Ukraine – seminar in Strasbourg

6-8 December Strasbourg

Implementing ECHR judgments

Follow us Follow us


Galleries Galleries
galleries link
Facebook Facebook
@coe on twitter @coe on twitter