Parliamentary Assembly reopens monitoring procedure in respect of Turkey

Parliamentary Assembly session Strasbourg 25 April 2017
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page
  • Imprimer en PDF
Parliamentary Assembly reopens monitoring procedure in respect of Turkey

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) decided today to reopen the monitoring procedure in respect of Turkey until “serious concerns” about respect for human rights, democracy and the rule of law “are addressed in a satisfactory manner”.

The resolution adopted calls on the Turkish authorities urgently to take measures such as lifting the state of emergency “as soon as possible”, halting the promulgation of emergency decree laws which bypass parliamentary procedures “unless strictly needed” and releasing all the parliamentarians and journalists detained pending trial. It also calls on them to establish the Inquiry Commission on State of Emergency Measures, ensure fair trials with respect for due procedural guarantees and take urgent measures to restore freedom of expression and the media.

On the basis of a report by Ingebjørg Godskesen (Norway, EC) and Marianne Mikko (Estonia, SOC), the text adopted underlines that nine months after the attempted coup, “the situation has deteriorated and measures have gone far beyond what is necessary and proportionate”. The authorities have been “ruling through decree laws” going far beyond what emergency situations require and overstepping the parliament’s legislative competence. In this context, the Assembly stressed that “the reintroduction of the death penalty would be incompatible with membership of the Council of Europe”.

Read full news - PACE reopens monitoring procedure in respect of Turkey

latest reports latest reports

8 September 2022
Group of States against Corruption publishes 4th Evaluation Round 3rd Interim Compliance Report on Hungary

23 November 2022
MONEYVAL report on Czech Republic

Treaty office Treaty office

30 November 2022

Poland, Croatia, Republic of Moldova, Slovenia, Sri Lanka, Ukraine and United Kingdom signed the Second Additional Protocol to the Convention on Cybercrime on enhanced co-operation and disclosure of electronic evidence(CETS No. 224).

Brazil acceded to the Convention on Cybercrime (CETS No. 185).

Events events
6 December Strasbourg (Palais de l’Europe, Room 7, 2pm-5.30pm)

Applying the cybercrime frame to digital violence against women

7 and 9 December Strasbourg (European Youth Centre)

Youth work in war contexts in Ukraine – seminar in Strasbourg

6-8 December Strasbourg

Implementing ECHR judgments

Follow us Follow us


@coe on twitter @coe on twitter