The Committee of Ministers is the Council of Europe’s decision-making body. It comprises the foreign ministers of all 47 member states. It is both a governmental body where national approaches to European problems are discussed on an equal footing and a forum to find collective responses to these challenges.
With the Parliamentary Assembly, it is the guardian of the Organisation’s fundamental values, and monitors member states’ compliance with Council of Europe conventions and standards on human rights, democracy and the rule of law.

One of the bases for the campaign to take action on hate speech is the Committee of Ministers Recommendation No. R (97) 20 on “hate speech”, adopted in 1997.
 It is the only internationally adopted definition of hatespeech.  

The campaign has been prolonged until 2017 as part of the Council of Europe Action Plan on the fight against violent extremism and radicalisation leading to terrorism adopted by the Committee of Ministers in May 2015.