25 Jul 2018 Lvl. 2
No state reply yet
Alert created on: 25 Jul 2018 n° 75/2018 Russian Federation

Russia Bans Estonian Journalists over "Russophobia" Allegations

Source of threatState
CategoryOther acts having chilling effects on media freedom
Partner EFJ/IFJ
No state reply yet
Partner EFJ/IFJ
On 6 June 2018, the Russian Minister of Foreign affairs informed the Ambassador of Estonia to Russian Federation and the Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs about the publication of a list of people who are banned from entering Russia. The list includes 20 Estonian public figures. Three of them are journalists. As announced by Artyom Kozhin, Deputy Director of the Information and Press Department of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, they are listed for having expressed “Russophobia”. The statement also confirms that the list was issued in response to the decision of the Estonian government to impose an entry ban on 49 Russians included on the Magnitsky List. The banned Estonian journalists are Ainar Ruussaar, working as special reporter for media house Eesti Media and daily newspaper Postimees, Eerki Bahovski, editor of a monthly foreign politics publication and employee of the International Centre for Defence and Security (ICDS), and Toomas Alatalu, freelance foreign politics analyst and journalist, member of the Estonian Association of Journalists.

Key information :

Toomas Alatalu

A freelance foreign politics analyst and journalist, as well as a member of the Estonian Association of Journalists.
Open in a new window show-link