Council of Europe Raoul Wallenberg Prize 2020

strasbourg 18/06/2019
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page
  • Imprimer en PDF
Council of Europe Raoul Wallenberg Prize 2020

The Council of Europe Raoul Wallenberg Prize has been awarded every two years since 2014 in recognition of extraordinary humanitarian achievements by a single individual, a group of individuals or an organisation. The prize, which was established by the Committee of Ministers in 2012, derives from an initiative of the Swedish Government with the support of Hungary, both of which still support it financially. The Jury consists of six independent persons of recognised moral standing in the field of human rights and humanitarian work, appointed by: the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, the Swedish Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the municipality of Budapest, the Raoul Wallenberg Institute in Lund, the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) and the Raoul Wallenberg family.

The prize will next be awarded on 17 January 2020 (this being the anniversary of Raoul Wallenberg’s arrest in Budapest in 1945).

The Secretary General announced the call for nominations for the Prize during the meeting of the Ministers’ Deputies on 12 June and sent out letters to this effect to the 47 Permanent Representatives, inviting them to disseminate this call widely in their respective countries.

The deadline for submission of candidatures for the "Raoul Wallenberg" 2020 is set for 31 October 2019.

The call for nominations will also be published on the Internet portal of the Council of Europe.



We set standards, monitor compliance and assist implementation of Human Rights and the Rule of Law
social media social media

Social media

 Search portal
Organisational chart [At 01/07/2018]
News & media News & media