In the period 2015 - 2017, the Council of Europe implemented thematic activities in six countries - Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Republic of Moldova and Ukraine - in the framework of a joint project with the European Commission.

The project main goal was to improve those countries’ domestic legislation and capacities in accordance with the Council of Europe and European Union standards by supporting the on-going processes of reform of local government.