youth playing with EYF game

What is the European Youth Foundation?

The European Youth Foundation (EYF) is a fund established in 1972 by the Council of Europe to provide financial and educational support for European youth activities. Only youth NGOs from Council of Europe member states, as well as the European Cultural Convention Signatories: Belarus, Kazakhstan and the Holy See, can apply to the Foundation.

It is a division in the Youth Department of the Council of Europe’s Directorate of Democratic Participation, Directorate General of Democracy.

The mission, roles and responsibilities of the Directorate of Democratic Participation:

Rooted in the European Cultural Convention, the mission of Directorate of Democratic Participation is to enable Europe’s citizens to participate effectively in today’s diverse and complex democratic societies. It encourages active and responsible citizenship by empowering citizens to contribute and develop a sense of ownership over the activities of decision-makers and institutions.

A number of Partial Agreements also contribute to strengthening member States’ commitment in these areas.

Organisation chart of the Directorate of the Democratic Participation


The European Youth Foundation is an instrument:


Co-management system in detail

Key figures

The Foundation has an annual budget of approximately 3.7 million Euros, which is mainly made up of obligatory contributions from each Council of Europe member state.

Since 1972, more than 300 000 young people, aged between 15 and 30 and mostly from member states, have benefited directly from EYF supported activities.

More information and country statistics

The Council of Europe

The Council of Europe (CoE) has its headquarters in Strasbourg, France. With 47 member states and a combined population of over 800 million people, the Council of Europe was set up in 1949 to ensure that the atrocities of WW II never happen again. Its work is unique in that everything it does is based on its core values: human rights, democracy and rule of law.

The Council of Europe is a separate organisation from the 28-member European Union.

Our offices in Strasbourg

We are based in Strasbourg, a city with a rich and agitated history; bicultural through its belonging to France and Germany at different times in the past. Strasbourg is a place of reconciliation between nations.

Our offices are in the European Youth Centre (EYC) (30 Rue Pierre de Coubertin 67000 Strasbourg France), an international training and meeting centre with residential facilities, hosting most of the youth sector's activities.

Chances are that you will bump into us if you attend a meeting at the EYC in Strasbourg.

We're always happy to say a quick hello!

What does the Council of Europe do

The Youth Department at the Council of Europe


9 September 2021
8 September 2021
Follow us Follow us