Promoting equality and combatting discrimination
Initiatives at the Council of Europe and in Italy


17 March 2022, 14h30

Italian premises of the European Parliament, Via IV Novembre, 149, Roma and online


Introduction and moderation Triantafillos Loukarelis 

14h30 Opening statements
  • Elena Bonetti Minister for Equal Opportunities and Family, Italy
  • Bjørn Berge Deputy Secretary General of the Council of Europe
  • Benedetto della Vedova Secretary of State of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Italy 
  • Pina Picierno Vicepresident of the European Parliament
  • Francesco Verducci Vice-President of the Extraordinary Commission for the fight against intolerance, racism, anti-Semitism and incitement to hatred and violence of the Italian Parliament


14h50 Promoting equality and combatting discrimination in Europe
  • Krzysztof Żuk Mayor of the City of Lublin, Poland
  • Maria Daniella Marouda Chair of European Commission against Racism and Intolerance (ECRI)
  • Fabrizio Petri Special Envoy of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation for the Human Rights of LGBTIQ+ people in the world, Italy
  • Triantafillos Loukarelis CDADI Chair and Director, National Office against Racial Discrimination (UNAR), Italy
  • Hallvard Gorseth Head of the anti-discrimination Department and of the Roma and Travellers Team a.i., Council of Europe
  • Olena Bogdan  Vice-Chair of the CDADI


15h20 Promoting equality and combatting discrimination in Italy

UNAR activities, national strategies and fight against hate speech

  • Agnese Canevari UNAR – The National Strategy for LGBTI persons
  • Roberto Bortone UNAR – The National Strategy for Equality, Integration and Participation of Roma and Sinti persons
  • Nadan Petrovic UNAR – The National Strategy Against Racism, Xenophobia and Intolerance
  • Paola Barretta Carta di Roma association – the REASON (React Against Online hate Speech) Project


Experiences of associations for the advancement of human rights in Italy

  • Djiana Pavlovic President of the Kethane Movement and winner of the CIDU Diritti Umani Prize 2021
  • Mehret Tewolde Executive Director Italia Africa Business Week
  • Marco Giusta Alessandro Battaglia Torino Pride and coordinators of the Annual General Meeting of EPOA 2022


16h15   Conclusions