Crystal Scales of JusticeCreated in 2005, the "Crystal Scales of Justice" Prize is a competition aimed at discovering and highlighting innovative and efficient practices concerning the functioning of justice, judicial procedures or the organisation of courts.

These practices are conducted in European jurisdictions (for example, initiatives devised by a court president, a registry, a Bar). They are drawn to the attention of policy-makers and the judicial community so as to improve the functioning of the public justice system.

The aim of the prize is to identify and promote innovative practices regarding the conduct of proceedings, court organisation and the functioning of court systems in general. To be eligible for consideration, the practices nominated must have been implemented recently and they should be easily usable by other States or jurisdictions. Their efficiency must be measurable.

The deadline to participate in the 2019 competition was 31st March 2019.

  Rules and application form

The Prize awarding ceremony will take place in Oslo (Norway) on 25 October 2019 in the framework of the European Day of Justice.

* Holy See, Canada, Japan, Mexico, United States of America, Guatemala, Israël, Kazakhstan, Morocco and Tunisia.

headline Oslo (Norway) 25th October 2019
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page
  • Imprimer en PDF
The shortlisted initiatives of the Crystal Scales of Justice Prize concern the fields of quality of justice, digital justice and mediation

The European “Crystal Scales of Justice Prize”, awarded by the Council of Europe, allows discovering, highlighting and sharing innovative practices aimed at improving the efficiency and quality of judicial systems.

Out of 43 applications from 20 different countries, the jury, composed of justice professionals, as shortlisted four projects, to be presented during the 10th Crystal Scales of Justice Prize awarding ceremony in Oslo (Norway), on 25 October 2019.

The four initiatives are [in alphabetic order of the countries] :

  • “Harmonization of processes: a response that reconciles the efficiency of the public service of Justice and wellbeing at work” [L'harmonisation des processus : une réponse conciliant l'efficience du service public de la Justice et le bienêtre au travail], First instance court of Luxembourg, Belgium
  • “Mediation in criminal justice; referrals by prosecutors in the prosecutorial phase and referrals by judges in the presentencing phase”, National Coordinator on Mediation in Criminal Cases, Netherlands
  • “Digital Justice”, Subdirectorate-General for New Technologies. Directorate General of Justice Modernization, Technological Development, Recovery and Asset Management (Ministry of Justice), Spain
  • “Improving the Quality of Justice (IQ Justice)”, Supreme Court, Slovenia

The Crystal Scales of Justice Prize will be awarded to one of these 4 projects and the 3 others will be awarded a special mention from the jury.

The representatives of the shortlisted initiatives of the Crystal Balance Prize will be invited to present their project and answer to questions from CEPEJ members and observers at the CEPEJ plenary meeting on 5 and 6 December 2019. This process is in line with the CEPEJ's objectives of identifying best practices and allowing the sharing of know-how between Council of Europe member states and beyond.

Previous editions Previous editions