Commemorative ceremony for the 60th anniversary of the Council of Europe

The commemorative ceremony for the 60th anniversary of the Council of Europe took place at the Palais des Congrès in Strasbourg on 1 October.

The ceremony was marked by speeches delivered by Council of Europe leaders and prominent European figures, including Mikhaïl Gorbachev, Former President of the USSR, and José Manuel Durão Barroso, President of the European Commission. Video messages from former Czech President Vaclav Havel and the astronaut of the European Space Agency Frank De Winne were screened.

The Strasbourg Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Marc Albrecht, interpreted the Symphony No. 3 in D minor of Gustav Mahler.

The ceremony, attended by ambassadors from member states, members of the Parliamentary Assembly, City officials, as well as staff members, concluded with the preformance by Alexander Rybak, Winner of the 2009 Eurovision Song

- Programme
- Photo gallery
- Videos - YouTube

Vous devez activer Javascript dans votre navigateur
ou mettre à jour votre version du Flash Player
pour pouvoir accéder au contenu de ce site !

Obtenir le Flash Player

Frank De Winne

European Space Agency - International Space Station

Video message