29 novembre de 9.30 à 11.30 - Salle 10 - Palais de l'Europe

Interprétation: FR/EN

 

Parrainé par le Bureau des conseillers de politique européenne, Union européenne

 

Il n'y a pas de définition universellement acceptée du terme « empowerment » ou une manière de mesurer son évolution dans le temps. Deux initiatives majeures permettent de comprendre ce concept et d'évaluer ce qu'il comporte pour l'avenir de la démocratie. Les discussions se tiendront sur un niveau d'égalité des sexes. Le résultat du Lab contribuera à l'élaboration d'un projet de rapport sur les options et défis pour l'UE pour la prochaine décennie, dans le cadre de la « stratégie européenne et système d'analyse politique (ESPAS), un projet interinstitutionnel de prévision de l'UE sur les tendances mondiales 2030.

G1000

G1000 est une initiative citoyenne majeure pour oxygéner la démocratie. En admettant que la crise politique belge (pas de gouvernement pendant plus d'un an en 2011) était une crise pour la démocratie, le G1000 a organisé, tout d'abord une large consultation en ligne, puis un sommet citoyen rassemblant plus de 700 participants choisis au hasard à Bruxelles pour débattre de la sécurité sociale, de la redistribution des richesses et sur l'immigration. Ensuite, pour la troisième phase du G1000 un panel de citoyens qui ont choisi de traiter les questions de l'emploi et du chômage. La Fondation pour les Générations futures, qui a initié et organisé le G1000, soutient en Belgique et au niveau européen le développement des initiatives qui procurent des solutions durables selon une approche en quatre points : bon pour l'environnement (planète), le bien-être de tous, une économie florissante (prospérité) et en fil rouge, la gouvernance participative.

Présentateur

M. Benoit DERENNE, Belgique, Fondateur et directeur de la Fondation pour les Générations Futures

Benoit Derenne est le fondateur et le directeur de la Fondations pour les Générations Futures et ancien chef des programmes pour l'environnement et des fonds pour les jeunes entrepreneurs de la Fondation Roi Baudouin. La Fondation pour les Générations Futures soutient le développement d'initiatives en Belgique et à un niveau européen qui procurent des solutions durables sur 4 plans : l'environnement, le bien-être des individus, l'économie prospère avec comme fil conducteur la gouvernance participative. En 2011 la Fondation a adopté le G1000, une importante initiative citoyenne qui oxygène la démocratie.


Manifeste ONLIFE 

Le Manifeste Onlife a pour ambition de susciter un débat sur la manière dont un monde hyper connecté invite à repenser les cadres des politiques. Nous sommes conditionnés par les technologies de l'information et de la communication (TIC) de sorte que notre comportement a changé et a modifié notre relation à nous-mêmes, aux autres et au monde. L'initiative Onlife qui a produit le Manifeste Onlife est un exercice collectif qui explore les conséquences de tels changements les politiques. Ce concept cherche à développer la réflexion sur ce qui nous arrive et à ré-envisager l'avenir avec plus de confiance. Ce projet a été lancé par la Commission européenne pour responsabiliser les citoyens en général et les politiques.

Site web : http://ec.europa.eu/digital-agenda/en/onlife-initiative

Présentateur

Mme Nicole DEWANDRE, Belgique, Conseillère du Directeur Général Réseaux de communication, contenu et technologies (DG CONNECT) à la Commission européenne.

Nicole Dewandre est la conseillère pour les questions de société auprès du Directeur Général Réseaux de communication, contenu et technologies (DG CONNECT) à la Commission européenne. Elle a rejoint la Commission européenne en 1983 et a été membre du Central Advisory Group et de l'unité Forward Study, traitant de l'analyse stratégique de la recherche et de la politique industrielle, pour le président de la Commission. Elle a également travaillé dans des domaines des « sciences et société » avant d'être en charge de l'unité « développement durable ». Elle s'occupe actuellement de l'interface sociétale de la stratégie numérique pour l'Europe. Elle a récemment initié l'initiative Onlife, qui a pour objectif la mise à jour des cadres référentiels des politiques dans la transition numérique.


Intervenants

Durant le laboratoire, les intervenants sont invités à faire des commentaires critiques sur l'impact, la transférabilité, la durabilité et le risque de l'initiative.

M. Franck R. DEBIE, Président du groupe de travail interinstitutionnel de l'ESPAS sur l'avenir de la Société européenne et chef d'équipe de "Le parlement Européen à l'horizon 2025 » au Cabinet du Secrétaire Général du Parlement européen.

Franck R. Debie est le président du Groupe de travail interinstitutionnel 2 sur l'avenir de de la Société européenne et chef d'équipe de "Le parlement Européen à l'horizon 2025 » au Cabinet du Secrétaire Général du Parlement européen. Auparavant il fut directeur de recherche au Centre de géostratégie de l'Ecole Normale Supérieure et Professeur affilié à HEC à Paris. Il était également le Directeur des recherches politiques du think tank European Ideas Network et de fondations pour le Groupe EPP au Parlement européen, Directeur Général de la Fondation Chirac, et Directeur Général de FONDAPOL à  Paris


M. Stefan SCHENNACH, Membre du Parlement, Autriche, membre de la Commission des Affaires sociales, de la santé et du développement durable de l'Assemblée parlementaire du Conseil de l'Europe.

Pr. Stefan Schennach est conseiller fédéral et membre du parti social-démocrate. Il est membre de l'Assemblée parlementaire du Conseil de l'Europe depuis 2011 et membre de sa Commission des Affaires sociales, de la santé et du développement durable. Il est également le président de la sous-commission sur l'environnement et l'énergie. Il est membre du bureau élargi de l'Assemblée parlementaire – union pour la Méditerranée. Depuis 2010, il est membre du board de la société pour les relations Austro-Arabes, président du groupe parlementaire d'amitié Autriche-Monténégro et membre board du Groupe d'amitié Autriche-Russie depuis 2001.


Mme Sylvia WALBY, Professeur de sociologie et titulaire de la chaire de l'Unesco sur l'égalité, Université de Lancaster, Royaume Uni

Sylvia Walby est professeur de sociologie et titulaire de la chaire de l'Unesco sur l'égalité, Université de Lancaster, Royaume Uni. Elle a été le présidente fondatrice de l'European Sociological Association et Présidente de Research Committee Economy and Society à l' International Sociological Association de 2006 à 2010. Elle a mené des recherches pour les Nations Unis, le Parlement européen et la Commission européenne. Elle a publié Globalization and Inequalities: Complexity and Contested Modernities" (Sage 2009) et  "The Future of Feminism" (Polity 2011). Son prochain livre s'intitulera "Gender and the Crisis" (Polity 2014).


Rapporteur à la session plénière

Mme Tess HELLGREN, Chercheur pour les programme de défense et de sécurité chez RAND Europe

Tess Hellgren est chercheur pour les programmes de défense et de sécurité chez RAND Europe. Elle a contribué à de nombreuses études de RAND sur les migrations, la radicalisation, l'évaluation nationale  des risques, le développement technologique, la cyber sécurité et le terrorisme. Tess Hellgren est le co-auteur de l'étude récente de RAND sur Europe's Societal Challenges: An analysis of global societal trends to 2030 et leur impact sur l'Union européenne, pour laquelle elle a mené une recherche sur les migrations. Ce rapport a été établi à la demande de la task force de l'ESPAS (système européen d'analyse stratégique et politique)

Modérateur

Mme Agnès HUBERT, France, Conseillère au Bureau des conseillers de politique européenne (BEPA) 

dessinateur

M. Eugène RIOUSSE

Votre avis

L(es) initiatives suivante(s) accroissent-elle(s) l'influence des citoyens de manière significative dans le processus de décision politique et / ou rendent-elle(s) les institutions démocratiques plus transparentes, réactives et responsables? 

Pour L'initiative G1000 :
% Voix
92 % 451
a. Oui
8 % 37
b. Non

Total des votes: 488

Le vote est désactivé car ce sondage a expiré le 29/11/13 12:00.

Pour le manifeste ONLIFE :
% Voix
92 % 419
a. Oui
8 % 38
b. Non

Total des votes: 457

Le vote est désactivé car ce sondage a expiré le 29/11/13 12:00.

29 November from 9.30 to 11.30 - Room 10 - Palais de l'Europe

Interpretation: FR/EN

 

Sponsored by the Bureau of European Policy Advisors, European Union

 

There is no universally accepted definition of empowerment or easy way to measure its evolution over time. Two major initiatives help to unpack this concept and assess what is in it for the future of democracy.  Discussions will be held to account from a gender perspective. The results of this lab will contribute to a policy report with options and challenges for the EU in the next decade, in the context of ESPAS ("European Strategy and Policy Analysis System") the EU inter-institutional foresight project on global trends 2030.

G1000

The G1000 is a major citizen's initiative to oxygenate democracy. Assuming the Belgian political crisis (no government for over a year in 2011) was a crisis for democracy, the G1000 organised, first, a huge online consultation, second a citizens summit bringing together more than 700 randomly selected citizens in Brussels on social security, redistribution of wealth and immigration and third a deliberative citizens panel on labour issues and unemployment. The Foundation for Future Generations, which initiated and organised G1000,supports the development of initiatives in Belgium and at European level that provide sustainable solutions through a «4 P's» approach, altogether good for the environment (Planet), the well-being of all (People), a thriving economy (Prosperity), and with Participatory governance as a red line.

Presenter

Mr Benoit DERENNE, Belgium, Founder and Director of the Foundation for Future Generations

Benoit Derenne is the founder and director of the Foundation for Future Generations and former head of the environmental program and funds for young entrepreneurs of the King Baudouin Foundation. The Foundation for Future Generations supports the development of initiatives in Belgium and at European level that provide sustainable solutions through a «4 P's» approach, altogether good for the environment (Planet), the well-being of all (People), a thriving economy (Prosperity), and with Participatory governance as a red line. In 2011, the Foundation adopted the G1000, a major citizen's initiative to oxygenate democracy.


ONLIFE Manifesto

The Onlife Manifesto aims to launch a public debate on the policy relevant consequences of the changes brought about by a world of hyperconnectivity. We live conditioned by information and communication technologies (ICTs) in such a way that our behaviour has changed and has modified the way we face our relationships: to ourselves, to others and to the world. The Onlife Initiative which has so far produced the Onlife Manifesto is a collective thought exercise to explore the policy-relevant consequences of those changes. This concept reengineering exercise seeks to inspire reflection on what happens to us and to re-envisage the future with greater confidence. This project was launched by the European Commission services with a view to empower citizens in general as well as policy makers.

Website: http://ec.europa.eu/digital-agenda/en/onlife-initiative

Presenter

Ms Nicole DEWANDRE, Belgium, Advisor to the Director General of the Directorate General for Communications, Networks, Content and Technologies (DG CONNECT) at the European Commission

Nicole Dewandre is advisor for societal issues to the Director General of the Directorate General for Communications, Networks, Content and Technologies (DG CONNECT) at the European Commission. She entered the European Commission in 1983 and has been a member of the Central Advisory Group and the Forward Study Unit, dealing with strategic analysis of research and industrial policy for the President of the Commission. She also worked in "science and society" issues, before being in charge of the "sustainable development" unit. She is now working on the societal interface of the Digital Agenda for Europe. She has recently initiated the Onlife Initiative, which is an endeavor to update of the referential frameworks underlying policies in the digital transition.


Discussants

Discussants are invited to make critical comments during the lab on the impact, transferrability, sustainability and risk of the initiative.

Mr Franck R. DEBIE, Chair of the ESPAS Inter-institutional Working Group on the future of European Society and Team Leader for 'the European Parliament in 2025 Project' in the Cabinet of the General Secretary at the European Parliament

Dr Franck R. DEBIE is Chair of the ESPAS1 Inter-institutional Working Group 2 on the future of European Society and the Team Leader for 'the European Parliament in 2025 Project' in the Cabinet of the General Secretary at the European Parliament. His former positions include Research Director of the "Centre de géostratégie de l'Ecole Normale Supérieure" and affiliated Professor at HEC Graduate School of Business in Paris. He was also the Policy Research Director of the European Ideas Network think tanks and foundations for the European People Party Group at the European Parliament, Director General of the "Fondation CHIRAC" (NGOs on Millenium Objectives) as well as Director General of FONDAPOL (Policy Research Foundation of French Centre Right), in Paris.


Mr Stefan SCHENNACH, Member of Parliament, Austria, Member of the Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe

Prof. Stefan Schennach is Federal Councillor and member of the Social Democratic Party. He has been a member of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe since 2011 where he is part of the Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development and chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Environment and Energy. He is also a member of the enlarged bureau of the Parliamentary Assembly - Union for Mediterranean. He is board member of the Society for Austro-Arab relations since 2010, chairman of the Parliamentary Friendship Group Austria-Montenegro and board member of the Austrian-Russian Friendship Group since 2001.


Ms Sylvia WALBY, Distinguished Professor of Sociology and UNESCO Chair in Gender Research, Lancaster University, United Kingdom

Sylvia Walby is Distinguished Professor of Sociology and UNESCO Chair in Gender Research at Lancaster University, UK.  She was founding President of the European Sociological Association and President of the Research Committee Economy and Society at International Sociological Association from 2006 until 10.  She has conducted research for the United Nations, the European Parliament and the European Commission. Her books include "Globalization and Inequalities: Complexity and Contested Modernities" (Sage 2009) and "The Future of Feminism" (Polity 2011). Her next book will be "Gender and the Crisis" (Polity 2014).


Rapporteur to the plenary session

Ms Tess HELLGREN, Researcher in the Defence and Security Programme at RAND Europe

Tess Hellgren is a researcher in the Defence and Security Programme at RAND Europe. She has contributed to a number of RAND studies on migration, radicalisation, national risk assessment, technology development, cyber security, and terrorism. Hellgren is a co-author of RAND's recent report on Europe's Societal Challenges: An analysis of global societal trends to 2030 and their impact on the EU, for which she led the migration research strand. This report was commissioned on behalf of the European Strategy and Policy Analysis System (ESPAS) task force.

Moderator

Ms Agnès HUBERT, France, Adviser in the Bureau of European Policy Advisers (BEPA)

cartoonist

Mr Eugène RIOUSSE

Your opinion

Does/Do the following initiative(s) increase significantly citizens' influence in the policy-making process and/or make democratic institutions more transparent, responsive and accountable? 

For the G1000 initiative:
% Votes
92% 451
a. Yes
8% 37
b. No

Total Votes: 488

Voting is disabled because this poll expired on 29/11/13 12:00.

For the ONLIFE Manifest:
% Votes
92% 419
a. Yes
8% 38
b. No

Total Votes: 457

Voting is disabled because this poll expired on 29/11/13 12:00.