The reporting system is formally governed by Articles 21-29 of the 1961 Charter.

In the framework of this monitoring system, States Parties regularly submit a report on the implementation of the Charter in law and in practice. These reports are examined by the European Committee of Social Rights, which decides whether the national situations they describe comply with the Charter. The decisions adopted by the European Committee of Social Rights in the framework of the reporting system, called "conclusions", are published every year. They can be consulted using the European Social Charter HUDOC Database. When the European Committee of Social Rights concludes that a situation is not in conformity, the State Party concerned has to bring the situation into conformity.

The follow-up of the conclusions of the European Committee of Social Rights is ensured by the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe, which intervenes in the last stage of the Reporting System. Its work is prepared by the Governmental Committee of the European Social Charter and the European Code of Social Security, comprising representatives of the States parties to the Charter and assisted by observers representing European employers’ organisations and trade unions. 

Having regard to the proposals made by the Governmental Committee, the Committee of Ministers adopts a Resolution closing each supervision cycle and may contain individual recommendations to the States parties concerned. If a State takes no action, the Committee of Ministers, on a proposal from the Governmental Committee, may address a Recommendation to that State, asking it to change the situation in law and/or in practice.

Ultimately, it falls to the European Committee of Social Rights to determine whether the situation has been brought into compliance with the Charter. This is done by the Committee in the framework of the reporting system or the collective complaints procedure.

Detailed presentation of the Reporting system

Processed situations Processed situations

The HUDOC Database of the European Social Charter allows users to make an in-depth research on the conclusions of the European Committee of Social Rights in the framework of the Reporting System, as well as on Resolutions and Recommendations of the Committee of Ministers in the framework of the follow-up procedure.

  Consult the Conclusions of the European Committee of Social Rights on HUDOC

  Consult the Resolusions and the Recommendations of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe on HUDOC

Latest reports submitted by States Parties

  For previous reports please consult the archives section

Coming events Coming events
Twitter Twitter
Contacts Contacts

Le système de rapports est formellement régi par les articles 21 à 29 de la Charte de 1961.

Dans le cadre de ce système, les Etats parties soumettent régulièrement un rapport relatif à l’application de la Charte en droit et en fait. Ces rapports sont examinés par le Comité européen des Droits sociaux, qui décide si les situations nationales qui y sont exposées sont conformes à la Charte. Les décisions adoptées par le Comité dans le cadre du système de rapports – les « conclusions » - sont publiées chaque année. Il est possible de consulter les conclusions dans la Base de données HUDOC de la Charte sociale européenne. Lorsque le Comité européen des Droits sociaux pose un constat de non-conformité, l’Etat partie concerné doit y remédier et rendre la situation conforme à la Charte.

Le suivi des conclusions du Comité européen des Droits sociaux est assuré par le Comité des Ministres du Conseil de l'Europe, qui intervient dans la phase finale du système de rapports. Son travail est préparé par le Comité gouvernemental de la Charte sociale européenne et du Code européen de sécurité sociale, composé de représentants des Etats parties de la Charte et assisté d’observateurs qui représentent les partenaires sociaux européens.

Compte tenu des propositions du Comité gouvernemental, le Comité des Ministres adopte une résolution qui clôture chaque cycle de contrôle et peut contenir des recommandations individuelles adressées aux Etats parties concernées. Si un Etat ne donne pas suite à une conclusion de non-conformité, sur proposition du Comité gouvernemental, le Comité des Ministres peut lui adresser une recommandation lui demandant de modifier en conséquence son droit ou ses pratiques.

C’est, en dernier ressort, au Comité européen des Droits sociaux qu’il incombe de déterminer si la situation a été rendue conforme à la Charte. Il se prononce sur ce point dans le cadre du système de rapports ou de la procédure de réclamations collectives.

Présentation détailée du système de rapports

situations examinées situations examinées

La base de données HUDOC de la Charte sociale européenne permet de faire une recherche approfondie des conclusions du Comité européen des Droits sociaux dans le cadre du Système de rapports, ainsi que des résolutions et des recommandations, émises par le Comité des Ministres dans le cadre du suivi de la mise en œuvre de ces conclusions.

  Consultez les Conclusion du Comité européen des Droits sociaux sur HUDOC

  Consultez les Résolutions et les Recommandations du Comité des Ministres du Conseil de l'Europe sur HUDOC

Derniers rapports soumis par les Etats parties

  Pour des rapports plus anciens, merci de consulter notre section archives

Ressources et liens Ressources et liens
Twitter Twitter
Contacts Contacts