Mr Thorbjørn Jagland is the 13th Secretary General of the Council of Europe. The Secretary General has the overall responsibility for the strategic management of the Organisation. Mr Jagland was elected in September 2009. 

The former Prime Minister and Foreign Minister of Norway, Thorbjørn Jagland, aged 63, was also the President of the Storting (Norwegian Parliament) and the leader of the Norwegian Labour Party. He is currently the Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, which awards the Nobel Peace Prize.



Secretary General welcomes Serbia’s move to allow Belgrade Pride event

Strasbourg,  29 September 2014, Secretary General Thorbjørn Jagland welcomed on Sunday the Belgrade Pride event: “After three years, Serbian authorities yesterday permitted Belgrade Pride to take place, guaranteeing freedom of assembly and expression for the LGBT community. This is a welcome development and I hope it will continue in the years to come”. Read also: Combating discrimination on the grounds of sexual orientation or gender identity


Secretary General Jagland calls on all sides in Ukraine to adhere to ceasefire

Strasbourg,  1 October 2014, Reacting to reports of shelling in Donetsk resulting in civilian casualties, the Secretary General said: "The ceasefire that was agreed is essential for a political solution in Ukraine. We call on all sides to stop the killing". Ukraine and the...

Secretary General meets Kyrgyzstan Foreign Minister

25 September 2014, On 25 September the Secretary General met the Kyrgyzstan Foreign Minister at the UN General Assembly in New York. They discussed cooperation between the Council of Europe and Kyrgyzstan and political issues in the Central Asia region. The SG congratulated...

Secretary General Jagland welcomes Muslim protests against IS terror

Strasbourg,  25 September 2014, The Secretary General of the Council of Europe, Thorbjørn Jagland, has welcomed initiatives of Muslim associations across Europe protesting against the Islamic State and violent extremism. “The Council of Europe and its member states stand...