Back

Training of Experts on the Human Rights-based approach in Combating Violence against Women

24/07/2017
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page
  • Imprimer en PDF
Training of Experts on the Human Rights-based approach in Combating Violence against Women

From the 12 to the 14 of July, in the framework of its programme on Women Empowerment, the North-South Centre of the Council of Europe organised a training session on the Council of Europe tools and methodologies. 

Council of Europe experts from Romania and Albania presented the organisation conventions, in particular the Convention on combating and preventing violence against women and domestic violence - Istanbul Convention - to experienced professionals operating in the fields of gender equality and women’s rights in the Southern Mediterranean region.  

The participants, originating from Algeria, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Libya, Morocco, Palestine and Tunisia discussed the use of these reference tools in their respective contexts and the benefits of the participatory approach promoted by the North-South Centre. Additionally, they defined the current challenges and needs of the implementation of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goal number 5 to achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls.

The Training of Experts constitutes the first step of the next North-South Centre’s project for the Empowerment of Women in the European and Southern Mediterranean regions. To reinforce the multilateral and national cooperation among the relevant stakeholders and foster women’s access to rights, the North-South Centre is creating a network of focal points in charge of assessing the needs and identifying the common challenges.

The North-South Centre will monitor the Network and ensure the follow-up of their priority lines of action, as part of its upcoming programme of activities.  Thus, the workshop on  “Strengthening Capacities of Women Organisations”, which will be organised by the North-South Centre in partnership with the  Jordanian National Commission for Women  and ARDD Legal Aid in Amman, Jordan, next 12 September, will discuss the first conclusions of the Network.

After the training, and based on the comparative analysis of national contexts, the Network shared its expertise with a male only audience, on the context of a side-event on the theme “Engaging male perspective in Combating Violence against women and Women Economic Empowerment”. This Q&A event was organised  by Global Shapers Tunisia, a North-South Centre’s partner.

For more information :  

Training of Experts’ concept note

Programme

 Side-Event Global Shapers Tunisia Pitch


Follow us Follow us

  Facebook page


  Twitter


 Contact us

+351 213 584 030

Rua São Caetano, 32

1200-829 Lisboa - PORTUGAL

Retour

Combattre la violence à l’égard des femmes à travers une approche basée sur les droits de l’Homme

Formation d'experts
24/07/2017
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page
  • Imprimer en PDF
Combattre la violence à l’égard des femmes à travers une approche basée sur les droits de l’Homme

Du 12 au 14 Juillet, dans le cadre de son programme sur le renforcement du rôle des femmes, le Centre Nord-Sud du Conseil de l’Europe a organisé une formation sur les outils et les méthodologies du Conseil de l’Europe.

Des experts du Conseil de l’Europe, provenant de Roumanie et d’Albanie, ont présenté les Conventions de l’organisation, notamment la Convention sur la prévention et la lutte contre la violence à l’égard des femmes et la violence domestique - Convention d’Istanbul - , à un public d’experts dans les domaines des droits des femmes et de l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes dans les pays du Sud de la Méditerranée.

Les participants, des experts venant d’Algérie, Egypte, Irak, Jordanie, Libye, Maroc, Tunisie et Palestine ont évalué l’utilisation de ces outils de référence dans leurs contextes nationaux respectifs et des avantages de l’approche participative promue par le Centre Nord-Sud. Ils ont également défini les enjeux et les besoins actuels dans la mise en œuvre de l’ Objectif numéro 5 de développement durable des Nations Unies  pour  « parvenir à l’égalité des sexes et autonomiser toutes les femmes et les filles ».

La Formation d’Experts constitue une première étape fondamentale dans le programme du Centre Nord-Sud sur le renforcement du rôle des femmes en Europe et en Méditerranée méridionale. Afin de favoriser la coopération nationale et multilatérale entre toutes les parties prenantes et de garantir aux femmes l’accès aux droits, le Centre Nord-Sud a créé un réseau de points focaux chargé d’évaluer les défis spécifiques au niveau national ainsi que les enjeux communs.

Dans le cadre de son prochain programme d’activités, le Centre Nord-Sud supervisera le réseau et assurera un suivi des lignes d’action prioritaires. Les premières conclusions du réseau seront discutées à l’occasion de l’atelier « Renforcer les capacités des organisations de femmes », organisé par le Centre Nord-Sud à Amman, en Jordanie, le 12 septembre 2017, en partenariat avec la Commission nationale jordanienne des femmes et l' organisation ARDD Legal Aid .

À l’issue de la formation, et sur la base d’une analyse comparative des différentes situations nationales, le réseau a partagé son expertise avec un public entièrement masculin,  sur le thème du rôle des hommes dans le combat contre les violences à l’égard des femmes.

Cet événement a été organisé par Global Shapers Tunisia, partenaire du Centre Nord-Sud du Conseil de l’Europe.

Pour en savoir plus :  

Training of Experts’ concept note

Programme (en anglais uniquement)

 Side-Event Global Shapers Tunisia Pitch