Council of Europe's standards and mechanisms seek to promote and ensure respect for the human rights of every individual. These include equal rights and dignity of all human beings, including lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI) persons.

The Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Unit (SOGI Unit) is a committed partner in the work of the Youth Department with LGBT youth through its education and training programme and youth-policy development.

In addition, the SOGI Unit, the Roma and Travellers team and the Youth Department co-organised the Conference Being Roma and LGBTI: at the crossroads of discrimination to raise awareness on the challenges faced by young Roma LGBTI persons and the work conducted by Roma LGBTI activists, including youth activists.

The SOGI Unit and the Education Department are conducting jointly a European study on Education Sector’s response to homophobic and transphobic bullying to identify best practices. A report will be published in 2018 and will be the basis for future work on anti-bullying.

Previous work included the surveys on hate speech conducted by the Youth Department in 2012 and 2015 showed that homophobic and transphobic hate speech is the most frequently encountered form of hate speech online. Addressing such hate speech is a cause for action for all.

The campaign organised in co-operation with the SOGI Unit and the International Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer and Intersex Youth & Student Organisation (IGLYO) a seminar entitled "Young People’s responses to Homophobic and Transphobic Hate Speech", which took place in May 2014. The seminar report lists suggestions for possible future steps to further strengthen young people’s response to homophobic and transphobic hate speech, and presents case studies in the areas of knowledge building, strengthening solidarity, religion, educational response and legislation.

A desktop study entitled “Young People’s Initiatives to Address Homophobic and Transphobic Hate Speech” was conducted in the spring of 2014. It maps out a number of initiatives that successfully involve youth (including from within and beyond the lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, queer and intersex (LGBTQI) community) addressing homophobic and transphobic hate speech.

The campaign has run action days raising awareness of the devastating impact of homophobic and transphobic hate speech in 2013 and 2014 and collects hate speech reports on the site "Hate Speech Watch".

IGLYO has published a range of guidelines and toolkits that have benefitted from and contribute to the campaign and programme of the Youth Department, including:

Nombre de normes et de mécanismes du Conseil de l’Europe veillent à promouvoir et à faire respecter les droits fondamentaux de tous, notamment l’égalité des droits et la dignité de tous les êtres humains, y compris les personnes lesbiennes, gays, bisexuelles et transgenres (LGBT).

L'Unité de l’orientation sexuelle et de l’identité de genre (Unité SOGI) est un partenaire engagé dans les activités que le Service de la jeunesse mène avec les jeunes LGBT à travers ses programmes éducatifs et de formation et l’élaboration des politiques de jeunesse.

Les enquêtes sur le discours de haine menées par le Service de la jeunesse en 2012 et 2015 ont révélé que le discours de haine homophobe et transphobe était la forme la plus fréquente de discours de haine en ligne. Lutter contre cette forme de discours de haine doit mobiliser chacun de nous.

La campagne a organisé, en coopération avec l’Unité OSIG et l’Organisation internationale des jeunes et des étudiants homosexuels, bisexuels, transgenres (IGLYO), un séminaire sur le thème « Les réponses de la jeunesse au discours de haine homophobe et transphobe », qui s’est tenu en mai 2014. Les actes du séminaire proposent des mesures qui pourraient être prises pour aider les jeunes à opposer une réponse plus forte au discours de haine homophobe et transphobe et présentent des études de cas dans les domaines du développement des connaissances, du renforcement de la solidarité, de la religion, de la réponse pédagogique et de la législation.

Une étude documentaire intitulée « Initiatives de la jeunesse pour lutter contre le discours de haine homophobe et transphobe » a été réalisée au printemps 2014. Elle recense un certain nombre d’initiatives qui associent avec succès les jeunes (au sein et au-delà de la communauté des personnes lesbiennes, gays, bisexuelles, transgenres, queer et intersexes (LGBTQI)) à la lutte contre le discours de haine homophobe et transphobe.

Des journées d’action appelant à une prise de conscience des effets dévastateurs du discours de haine homophobe et transphobe ont été organisées dans le cadre de la campagne en 2013 et 2014 et le site de l’Observatoire du discours de haine permet le signalement de discours de haine.

IGLYO est à l’origine d’une série d'outils et de lignes directrices qui ont été inspirés par la campagne et par le programme du Service de la jeunesse et y contribuent, parmi lesquels :