The importance of history teaching was clearly affirmed at the highest political level at the Council of Europe Summits of Heads of State and Government in 1993, 1997 and 2005.

The Council of Europe Committee of Ministers as a standard setting body adopted Recommendations to member states in particular on History teaching in twenty-first-century Europe and on Intercultural dialogue and the image of the other in history teaching.

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe too has expressed itself on various occasions on the subject adopting Recommendations on History and the learning of history in Europe and History teaching in conflict and post-conflict areas.

These key documents reflect the changes which have taken place in Greater Europe since the late 1980s, beginning with the fall of the Berlin Wall as well as the on-going process of globalisation, which in all member states made it increasingly important to understand the role of education in managing diversity democratically.

The recommendations are addressed to the governments of the member states with due regard to their national, regional or local structures and respective responsibilities in particular in the field of history education. The primary target group includes history educators. Other target groups are museums authorities, publishers, audiovisual media, cultural centres, local or regional government cultural departments , non-governmental organisations , libraries, etc.

To face the development of cultural diversity and globalisation presuppose far-reaching changes as regards school curriculums and methods generally, and specifically as regards the teaching of history in all its complexity. Reforms to history teaching should for instance include the viewpoints of different nations, cultures, genders, ages and individuals, thus contributing to reconciliation and peace building , by enabling communities divided by conflict or war to understand the point of view of the other.

To put into action the Council of Europe Committee of Ministers’ and Parliamentary Assembly’s recommendations on history teaching , intergovernmental, regional and bilateral projects are launched bringing together historians, curriculum designers, authors of teaching materials, history teacher trainers, practicing teachers, museum specialists and representatives of NGOs.

Pedagogical tools such as the interactive e-book on Shared histories for a Europe without dividing lines and A look at our past  as the main results of these projects are intended for teacher trainers, teachers and pupils and also families.

Latest publication Latest publication

Shared histories for a Europe without dividing lines

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

An interactive e-book aimed at teacher trainers, teachers in training, practising teachers and their pupils.
 

Read More >>

L’importance de l’enseignement de l’histoire a été clairement affirmée au plus haut niveau politique lors des sommets des chefs d’Etat et de gouvernement du Conseil de l’Europe de 1993, 1997 et 2005.

Le Comité des Ministres du Conseil de l’Europe en tant qu’organe normatif a adopté les Recommandations aux Etats membres en particulier sur l'enseignement de l'histoire en Europe au XXIe siècle et sur Le dialogue interculturel et l’image de l’autre dans l’enseignement de l’histoire.

L’Assemblée Parlementaire du Conseil de l’Europe s’est elle aussi exprimée à diverses occasions sur ce sujet adoptant ses Recommandations sur L’histoire et l’apprentissage de l’histoire en Europe et L’enseignement de l’histoire dans les zones de conflit et de post-conflit.

Ces documents clés reflètent les changements qui ont eu lieu dans la Grande Europe depuis la fin des années 1980, à commencer par la chute du mur de Berlin ainsi que le processus actuel de mondialisation qui, dans tous les Etats membres, ont rendu de plus en plus nécessaire la compréhension du rôle de l’éducation dans la gestion démocratique de la diversité.

Les recommandations sont adressées aux gouvernements des Etats membres, dans le respect de leurs structures nationales, régionales ou locales et de leurs compétences respectives en particulier dans le domaine de l’enseignement de l’histoire.

Le groupe cible principal inclut les enseignants d’histoire. Les autres groupes cibles comprennent les autorités des musées, les secteurs de l’édition, les médias audiovisuels, les centres culturels, les services culturels des autorités locales ou régionales, les organisations non gouvernementales, les bibliothèques, etc.

Faire face au développement de la diversité culturelle et la mondialisation impliquent des changements profonds quant aux programmes et aux méthodes scolaires en général, et plus particulièrement concernant l’enseignement de l’histoire dans toute sa complexité. Des réformes de l’enseignement de l’histoire devrait prendre en compte les points de vue de la pluralité des nations, des cultures, des genres, des âges et des individus, contribuant ainsi à la réconciliation et à la construction de la paix en permettant aux communautés divisées par un conflit ou une guerre de comprendre le point de vue de l’autre.

Pour mettre en œuvre les recommandations du Comité des Ministres et de l’Assemblée Parlementaire du Conseil de l’Europe concernant l’enseignement de l’histoire, des projets intergouvernementaux, régionaux et bilatéraux ont été lancés réunissant des historiens, des concepteurs de programmes scolaires, des auteurs de matériels pédagogiques, des formateurs de professeurs d’histoire, des enseignants en activité, des muséologues et des représentants d’ONG.

Des outils pédagogiques tels que la publication électronique interactive Histoires partagées pour une Europe sans clivages et A look at our pasten tant que résultats principaux de ces projets sont destinés aux formateurs d’enseignants, aux enseignants et à leurs élèves ainsi qu’aux familles.

Dernière publication Dernière publication

Histoires partagées pour une Europe sans clivage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Un livre électronique interactif destiné aux formateurs de maîtres, aux enseignants en formation, aux enseignants en activité et à leurs élèves
 

En savoir plus >>