The Council of Europe has worked for decades to promote quality education, which it has clearly defined in a Recommendation to Governments. This specifies that a quality education must be free of corruption.


Corruption can affect all levels of education, in all European countries: from the embezzlement of funds intended for school buildings in pre-primary education to plagiarism in universities essays and the selling of diplomas. The examples are numerous and they can affect any child in Europe at one moment or another of their schooling.

The long-term consequences are disastrous: corruption disrupts citizens’ trust in the school system and in democratic institutions more generally, resulting in a lack of participation in the democratic process. Corruption can also result in a diminution of a given country reputation at international level.
 

Origins

One of the new flagship projects of the Education Department is dedicated to the Pan-European Platform on Ethics, Transparency and Integrity in Education (ETINED) of the Council of Europe.

In April 2013, the Ministers of Education of the 50 States Parties to the European Cultural Convention agreed through the Helsinki Ministerial Declaration to work together on ethics, transparency and integrity in education, for the mutual benefit of all European children, and to set up a Platform to do so.

The Council of Europe has developed comprehensive standards, legal instruments, norms and recommendations to fight corruption through criminal, civil and administrative law, all of which are monitored by the Group of States against Corruption (GRECO). Its Parliamentary Assembly has also set up an alliance of Parliamentarians called the PACE anti-corruption Platform.

Le Conseil de l’Europe oeuvre depuis des décennies à la promotion d’une éducation de qualité, qu’il a clairement définie dans une recommandation adressée aux gouvernements ; celle-ci précise notamment qu’une éducation de qualité doit exempte de corruption.


En réalité, la corruption peut sévir à tous les niveaux de l’éducation, dans l’ensemble des pays européens : les exemples en la matière vont du détournement de fonds destinés à des bâtiments scolaires dans l’enseignement primaire, en passant par le plagiat dans les thèses universitaires, jusqu’à la vente de diplômes. Les exemples sont nombreux et n’importe quel enfant en Europe peut être touché à un moment ou à un autre de sa scolarité.

Les conséquences de ce fléau à long terme sont catastrophiques. La corruption sape la confiance des citoyens dans leur système scolaire, et dans les institutions démocratiques d’une manière plus générale, et se traduit par une faible participation aux processus démocratiques. La corruption peut aussi porter atteinte à la réputation d’un pays sur la scène internationale.
 

Origines

L’un des nouveaux projets phares du secteur de l’Education porte sur la plateforme paneuropéenne sur l’éthique, la transparence et l’intégrité du Conseil de l’Europe (ETINED).

En avril 2013, les ministres de l’Education des 50 États parties à la Convention culturelle européenne ont convenu, sur la base de la Déclaration ministérielle d’Helsinki, d’oeuvrer ensemble en faveur de l’éthique, de la transparence et de l’intégrité dans l’éducation, dans l’intérêt de tous les enfants européens et, à cette fin, de constituer une plateforme.

Pour lutter contre la corruption par le droit pénal, civil et administratif, le Conseil de l’Europe a élaboré un arsenal de standards, d’instruments juridiques, de normes et de recommandations, dont le suivi est assuré par le Groupe d’Etats contre la corruption (GRECO). Son Assemblée parlementaire a quant à elle récemment constitué une alliance parlementaire appelée la Plateforme parlementaire contre la corruption