20 June 2017. Session I (11h-12h) and Session II (13h30-15h)

Description Description

The aim of this workshop is to facilitate a discussion among different actors on the conclusions of the Report on the State of Citizenship and Human Rights Education in Europe, with a view to develop a shared understanding of the current challenges and opportunities in this area, while taking into account the diversity of contexts, needs and approaches.  In particular, the participants are invited to discuss the following findings of the Report:

 

  • Conclusion 1: Inconsistencies between policies and their implementation are reported by 66 per cent of government respondents in 2016 compared to 20 per cent in 2012.
  • Conclusion 2: Over 80 per cent of government respondents felt that awareness of relevance of citizenship and human rights education for addressing the current challenges in our societies is needed in order for such education to receive a greater priority in their countries.
  • Conclusion 3: Over a third of government respondents stated there is scarcely to none at all reference to EDC/HRE in laws, policies and strategic objectives, in vocational education and training, and higher education (14 out of 40 respondents).
  • Conclusion 4: About half of government respondents stated that evaluations of strategies and policies undertaken in accordance with the aims and principles of the Charter have been done or foreseen. 
  • Conclusion 5: In almost two-thirds of the countries no criteria have been developed to evaluate the effectiveness of programmes in the area of citizenship and human rights education.

 

Moreover, there exist important differences in perception among government and civil society respondents.  For example, 78 per cent of government respondents claimed that there is a shared definition of education for democratic citizenship and human rights education in their countries compared to 17 per cent of civil society respondents.  90 per cent of government respondents were aware of measures or activities planned to promote education for democratic citizenship and human rights education in their countries compared to 30 per cent of civil society respondents.

Time schedule Time schedule
Topics Topics
Expected Outcome Expected Outcome

List of recommendations for specific areas and levels of education to be included in the conference report, based on the recommendations of the Report on the State of citizenship and human rights education in Europe and including possible means of implementation and qualitative and quantitative indicators for evaluating progress (a model will be provided prior to the Conference).

Test Multiple item Test Multiple item
Questions for discussion Questions for discussion

Based on your experience, what are the main inconsistencies between policies and their implementation?  How can they be overcome?


Would you agree that lack of awareness of the relevance of education for democratic citizenship and human rights, for addressing the current challenges in our societies, is a major obstacle to their successful promotion? How can such awareness be raised?


Would you agree that references to education for democratic citizenship and human rights in laws, policies and strategic objectives need to be further strengthened?  What needs to be done to achieve this, and who needs to take action?


How is the effectiveness of programmes in the area of education for democratic citizenship and human rights evaluated in your country?  How can this evaluation be further improved? How can the Council of Europe support such evaluation and in what ways should the Council of Europe tools, such as the Charter and the Framework of competences for democratic culture, be used for this purpose?


In your opinion, what are the main reasons for the important differences in perception among government and civil society respondents with respect to education for democratic citizenship and human rights?  Are they inevitable?  Can and should they be reduced, and what actions and approaches could be helpful in this respect?

20 juin 2017. Session I (11h-12h) et Session II (13h30-15h)

Description Description

Le but de cet atelier est de faciliter le débat entre les différents acteurs sur les conclusions du Rapport concernant l’Etat de l’Education à la Citoyenneté et aux Droits de l’Homme en Europe, en vue de développer une compréhension commune des défis et des opportunités actuelles dans ce domaine, tout en prenant en compte la diversité des contextes, besoins et approches.  En particulier, les participants sont invités à débattre sur les constats suivants du Rapport :

 

  • Conclusion 1 : en 2016, 66% des répondants gouvernementaux, par rapport aux 33% en 2012, rapportent un niveau égal d’incohérence entre les politiques et leur application.
  • Conclusion 2 : plus de 80% des répondants gouvernementaux estiment que la sensibilisation à l’importance de l’Education à la Citoyenneté démocratique et aux Droits de l’Homme pour  surmonter les défis actuels dans nos sociétés, est nécessaire afin de bénéficier d’une plus grande priorité dans leur pays.
  • Conclusion 3 : plus d’un tiers des répondants gouvernementaux constatent que les lois, les politiques et les objectifs stratégiques dans l’éducation, la formation professionnelle et dans l’enseignement supérieur, font à peine ou presque aucune référence à l’ECD/EDH (14/40 répondants).
  • Conclusion 4 : près de la moitié des répondants gouvernementaux constatent que les évaluations des stratégies et des politiques, effectuées conformément aux objectifs et aux principes de la Charte, ont été réalisées ou envisagées. 
  • Conclusion 5 : dans presque deux tiers des pays, aucun critère n’a été mis au point pour évaluer l’efficacité des programmes dans le domaine de l’Education à la Citoyenneté démocratique et aux Droits de l’Homme.

 

Par ailleurs, il existe une différence de perception importante parmi les répondants gouvernementaux et les répondants de la société civile. Par exemple, 78% des répondants gouvernementaux, comparés aux 17% des répondants de la société civile, ont affirmé que dans leur pays, il y a une définition commune de l’éducation à la Citoyenneté démocratique et aux Droits de l’Homme.  De plus, 90% des répondants gouvernementaux, comparés aux 30% des répondants de la société civile, sont conscients des mesures ou des activités prévues dans leurs pays, pour promouvoir l’Education à la Citoyenneté démocratique et aux Droits de l’Homme.

Horaires Horaires
Thèmes Thèmes
Résultats escomptés Résultats escomptés

L’élaboration d’une liste de recommandations pour des domaines et des niveaux d’éducation à intégrer dans le rapport de la conférence. Celle-ci doit se baser sur les recommandations du Rapport concernant l’Etat de l’Education à la Citoyenneté démocratique et aux Droits de l’Homme en Europe et intégrer aussi des moyens éventuels d’exécution et des indicateurs qualitatifs et quantitatifs pour évaluer les progrès (un modèle pourrait être fourni avant la Conférence).

Ateliers et études de cas Ateliers et études de cas
Questions à débattre Questions à débattre

Selon votre expérience, quels sont les incohérences majeures entre les politiques et leur mise en œuvre?  Comment peut-on les surmonter ?


Etes-vous d’accord avec le fait qu’un manque de sensibilisation à l’Education à la Citoyenneté démocratique et aux Droits de l’Homme, est l’obstacle majeur à une promotion efficace ? Comment cette sensibilisation pourrait être développée davantage ?


Etes-vous d’accord avec le fait que les références à l’Education à la Citoyenneté Démocratique et aux Droits de l’Homme, dans les lois, les politiques et les objectifs stratégiques devraient être encore plus renforcées?  De quoi a-t-on besoin pour atteindre cela et de quoi a-t-on besoin pour agir ?


Comment est évaluée dans votre pays l’efficacité des programmes dans le domaine de l’Education à la Citoyenneté Démocratique et aux Droits de l’Homme ?  Comment améliorer davantage une telle évaluation ? Comment le Conseil de l’Europe soutient-il cette évaluation et de quelle manière ses outils, tels que la Charte et le Cadre de compétences pour une culture démocratique, pourraient être utilisés à ce propos ?


Selon vous, quels sont les principales raisons liées à l’importante différence de perception entre les répondants gouvernementaux et les répondants de la société civile en ce qui concerne l’éducation à la Citoyenneté démocratique et aux Droits de l’Homme?  Sont-ils inévitables?  Peuvent et devraient-ils être réduits ? Quelles actions et approches pourraient être utiles à cet égard ?