A treaty is «an international agreement concluded between States in written form and governed by international law, whether embodied in a single instrument or in two or more related instruments and whatever its particular designation» (See Article 2 of the Vienna Convention).

The European Treaties Series contains «conventions», «agreements», «charters», «codes», «framework convention» and «outline convention». All these legal instruments are treaties as defined by the Vienna Convention.

The sole difference between «conventions» and «agreements» is the form in which a State may express its consent to be bound. Agreements may be signed with or without reservation as to ratification, acceptance or approval. Conventions may, in principle, be ratified. See Model final clauses for conventions and agreements concluded within the Council of Europe.

The treaties concluded within the Council of Europe are multilateral treaties, which means that they are concluded between more than two States. Only two bilateral treaties were concluded within the Council of Europe. They were concluded between the Council of Europe and France, hosting State of the Organisation: the Special Agreement relating to the seat of the Council of Europe, 2 September 1949, and the Supplementary Agreement amending certain provisions of the General Agreement on Privileges and Immunities of the Council of Europe, 18 March 1950.

2014: 60th anniversary of the European Cultural Convention

There has always been recognition of the major role performed by culture in the progress of social knowledge, understanding of others and transmission of values. Together with democracy and human rights, it constitutes a precondition for a satisfying life, and a source of fulfilment.
The Council of Europe from its creation has been aware of the role of culture and education in encouraging respect for cultural diversity while furthering common values.

Un traité est «un accord international conclu par écrit entre Etats et régi par le droit international, qu’il soit consigné dans un instrument unique ou dans deux ou plusieurs instruments connexes, et quelle que soit sa dénomination particulière» (Voir l’article 2 de la Convention de Vienne).

La Série des Traités européens regroupe des «conventions», des «accords», des «arrangements», des «chartes», des «codes», des «convention-cadre». Tous ces instruments juridiques sont des traités au sens de la Convention de Vienne.

La seule différence entre les «conventions» et les «accords» tient à la forme dans laquelle l’Etat peut exprimer son consentement à être lié. Les accords peuvent être signés avec ou sans réserve de ratification, alors que les conventions doivent, en principe, être toujours l’objet d’une ratification par l’Etat. Voir Modèle des clauses finales pour les conventions et accords conclus au sein du Conseil de l’Europe.

Les traités conclus au sein du Conseil de l’Europe sont des traités multilatéraux, c’est-à-dire conclus entre plus de deux Etats. Il n’existe que deux traités bilatéraux. Ils ont été conclus entre le Conseil de l’Europe et la France, Etat hôte de l’Organisation: l’Accord spécial relatif au siège du Conseil de l’Europe, du 2 septembre 1949, et l’Accord complémentaire à l’Accord général sur les privilèges et immunités du Conseil de l’Europe, du 18 mars 1950.

2014 : 60ème anniversaire de la Convention européenne culturelle

Depuis toujours, on reconnaît le rôle majeur joué par la culture dans le progrès des connaissances sociales, la compréhension d'autrui et la transmission des valeurs. Avec la démocratie et les droits de l'homme, elle constitue une condition préalable à une vie satisfaisante et une source d'épanouissement.
Le Conseil de l'Europe a pris conscience dès sa fondation du rôle de la culture et de l'éducation pour encourager le respect de la diversité culturelle tout en développant des valeurs communes.