Structure of the North-South Centre


Staturory bodies The European Centre for Global Interdependence and Solidarity, more commonly known as the North-South Centre, was established in November, 1989 as an "Enlarged Partial Agreement" so that other states not members of the Council of Europe can also join. There are currently 20 member states, three of whom are not members of the Council of Europe.

Management of the North-South Centre is overseen by an Executive Committee that is composed of members representing each of the components of the "quadrilogue."

The "quadrilogue" is a concept coined to explain a partnership which brings together representatives of governments, national parliaments, local and regional authorities and civil society to ensure good governance of the Centre representative of all the relevant stakeholders. This system helps build bridges between political actors with different approaches, viewpoints and priorities, generating constructive synergies and offering a platform for structured dialogue and exchange of experience and good practice.

The Statutory bodies

The Executive Committee

The Bureau of the Executive Committee


Former Statutory Bodies

North-South Centre North-South Centre North-South Centre

Contact us

North-South Centre of the Council of Europe
Rua de Sao Caetano, 32
1200-829 Lisbon, Portugal
Tel. (+351) 21 358 40 30
Fax (+351) 21 358 40 37 / 72

North-South Centre